Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest Research Companion
An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.
Welcome to this guide for students in GCAN speech courses, including 100 Survey of Human Communication, 101 Public Speaking, and 215 Interpersonal Communication. For questions or help with your assignments, use the "Chat" box to the left, or Click Here.
Library resources and our expert help are available from anywhere in the world. See this video tutorial which shows you how to login from the library homepage.
Tips for Success
- Start your assignments early. Allow yourself time to look for quality sources, revise your topic/thesis, or ask for help.
- Keep track of your sources. Keep a list of website URLs / citations in Word or Google Docs.
- Start broadly, then narrow in. Use Google Search and Wikipedia to gather background information, then search in our databases.
- Keep your topic and assignment in mind. Some sources are interesting but not relevant to the assignment; save them for later and keep your focus.
Library Information Session Slides
Searching with QuickSearch
Use the search box below to search across all the Libraries' resources. QuickSearch is also available from the Libraries homepage.
Searching in Databases
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Contains a range of perspectives on many controversial issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. A good starting point to explore topics for persuasive speeches.
Provides access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, hundreds international newspapers, nearly 30,000 full text dissertations, and concise business information from nearly 9,000 market reports. Try limiting 'Document type' to 'Speech/Lecture'.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with almost 7,000 full text periodicals. Try limiting 'Document type' to 'speech'.
Searching with Google
Google is not a source, it helps you find sources. It's where we all start, and we use it everyday.
Google's algorithm shows results based on many factors, like our search history or how popular a page is. It also shows us advertisements (Ads), which usually appear at the top of the results page in small bold, black print before the URL (link), like this:
Try This Custom Search Box
This custom search box will help you to find trustworthy news, magazine, and other articles to use for your speeches.
Selected sources include: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Time Magazine, Associated Press, Reuters, Pew Research, BBC, CIA World Factbook, Newsweek, The Economist, The Atlantic, Slate, Science News, Business Insider, and more.