ProQuest Research Companion
An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.
Speech-Language Pathology Program
The Master's Program in Speech Language Pathology at Touro College School of Health Science prepares students to become highly skilled and knoledgeable health care providers, as well as adept researchers and academics.
RefWorks (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians.
A user-friendly reference manager and citation builder, free to Touro students.
Academic Integrity at Touro College
An Academic Integrity at Touro College: avoiding plagiarism and citing sources when completing research-based assignments.
Cite It Rite
What to cite, how to do it, and why you should care.
The basics of copyright, public domain, and creative commons explained.
OWL at Purdue
The Purdue University Online Writing Lab General Writing Resources page offers comprehensive information and examples to help students with all stages of the writing process.
Other recommended college writing centers include:
Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.
While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.
Get started quickly with the seach bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you've registered for off-campus access.
Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains indexes and abstracts of the communication disorder literature, with focus on speech–language pathology and audiology.
DynaMed (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical reference tool created by physicians for use at the point-of-care. Includes clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. New content is constantly being added from new findings published in over 500 medical journals.
Free Medical Journals This link opens in a new window
Open access medical journals.
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, autism, psychiatry, psychology, aging & gerontology, public health, administration, pediatrics, family, mental disorders, learning disabilities, research methods & evaluation, etc.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, hundreds international newspapers, nearly 30,000 full text dissertations, and concise business information from nearly 9,000 market reports.
SciVerse ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1000 journals. and over 20 reference works, and handbooks. Covers biological chemistry, forensic sciences, human nutrition, immunology, psychotherapy, neurological sciences, etc. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes academic and research journals from Oxford University Press covering a broad range of subject areas.
Oxford Open This link opens in a new window
Over 30 free peer-reviewed scientific articles in all areas of medical research and biology.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text articles from thousand of scholarly journals, hundreds international newspapers, full text dissertations, and market reports.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Books & eBooks
All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage). If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.
For eBooks use the eBooks link on library homepage.
The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:
Anatomy of Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing, Sixth Edition by
Call Number: WV 501 S459a 2021
"Anatomy & Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing, Sixth Edition provides a solid foundation in anatomical and physiological principles relevant to communication sciences and disorders. This bestselling textbook beloved by instructors and students integrates clinical information with everyday experiences to reveal how anatomy and physiology relate to the speech, language, and hearing systems. Combining comprehensive coverage with abundant, beautiful full-color illustrations and a strong practical focus, the text makes complex material approachable even for students with little or no background in anatomy and physiology"-
Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
Call Number: WL 340.5 P373 2022
"Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders is designed for the graduate course on Aphasia. Part 1 of the textbook covers aphasiology, while part 2 addresses related disorders. Overall, the textbook offers an overview of aphasia and related neurogenic communication disorders by presenting important recent advances and clinically relevant information. It emphasizes Evidence Based Practice by critically reviewing the pertinent literature and its relevance for best clinical practices.
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Call Number: WL 340.2 F824 2012
This textbook aligns the basic science of anatomy and physiology with the applied art and science of communication disorders. The content is approached from a clinical perspective so that students understand the application of the content. Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is unique for its presentation of elementary and introductory anatomy and physiology in a framework of clinical practice"--Provided by publisher
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
Call Number: WL 340.2 S557a 2021
"This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms.
Clinical Management of Speech Sound Disorders: a Case-Based Approach by
Call Number: RC427 .C54 2019
section 1. Topics in speech sound disorders -- The case-based approach to teaching evidence based practice in speech sound disorders -- Overview of basic concepts -- A review of articulatory phonetics and phonetic transcription -- Phonological development -- Linguistic and cultural considerations -- section 2. Assessment and principles of intervention -- Assessment and analysis -- Diagnosis, treatment decisions, and planning -- Principles of intervention -- section 3. Articulation-based approaches for speech sound disorders -- Traditional and motor based approaches for articulation errors -- Core vocabulary approach -- Multiple phoneme approach for articulation errors -- Paired stimuli approach for articulation errors -- PROMPT approach for articulation errors -- section 4. Linguistic-based aapproaches for speech sound disorders --
Clinical Research Methods in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Call Number: W 20.5 I73c 2020
Introduction to research -- Ethics of research in speech-language pathology and audiology -- Research problems -- Locating, accessing, and assessing information -- Literature review -- Measurement -- Research design and strategy -- Quantitative research -- Qualitative research methods -- Multimethod research -- Reporting and disseminating research -- Evaluating tests and treatments -- Evidence-based practice : application of research to clinical practice -- Research grants
Communication Sciences and Disorders from Science to Clinical Practice by
Call Number: WL 340.2 C7344 2021
An introduction to the discipline of communication sciences and disorders -- Communication across the life span -- The social and cultural bases of communication -- Speech science -- Developmental speech disorders -- Voice disorders -- Cleft lip and palate -- Fluency disorders -- Motor speech disorders -- Augmentative and alternative communication - Dysphagia -- Language disorders in children -- Acquired neurogenic language disorders -- Hearing science -- Hearing disorders -- Audiologic rehabilitation
Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist by
Call Number: WV 270 W45 2019
The speech-language pathologist in audiology services : an interprofessional collaboration -- Sound and the ear -- Case history assessment and the process of differential diagnosis -- Pure tone audiometry and masking -- Speech audiometry -- Otoscopy and the middle ear test battery -- Beyond the basics -- Navigating the audiogram -- Audiogram interpretation -- Audiological diagnoses, etiologies, and treatment considerations -- Audiologic screening -- Hearing aids and cochlear implants
Introduction to Speech Sound Disorders by
Call Number: WL 340.2 B874i 2020
Concepts in phonetics and phonology -- Phonological development -- Assessment -- Diagnosis -- Phonological development -- Input oriented approaches -- Output oriented approaches -- Phonological approaches
Phonological Treatment of Speech Sound Disorders in Children by
Call Number: WL 340.3 P574 2020
Phonological Treatment of Speech Sound Disorders in Children: A Practical Guide provides speech-language pathologists with a road map for implementation of selected treatment methods that can have a significant, positive impact on children's speech intelligibility and communicative effectiveness.
Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Call Number: WM 475 P964 2021
"The fifth edition of Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is a singularly comprehensive resource for students in speech-language pathology and audiology as they prepare for their professional careers. It also serves as a timely source of information for both practitioners and faculty, serving as an updated "state of the professions" desk reference. The book is divided into four major sections: overview of the professions; employment issues; setting-specific issues; and working productively. The information presented in each section provides the reader with a better understanding and a new perspective on how professional issues have been affected by both internal and external influences in recent years including technological advances, demographic shifts, globalization, and economic factors.
Professional Writing in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Call Number: WZ 345 G6184p 2020
Getting started -- Writing rules -- Evidence based writing -- Ethics of professional writing -- Using library resources -- Using internet resources -- Writing for oral presentation -- The diagnostic report -- Clinical reports and referrals -- Writing for professional advancement
Speech Disorders: Causes, Treatment and Social Effects by
Call Number: RC423 .S63827 2010eb
Speech disorders or speech impediments, as they are also called, are a type of communication disorder where 'normal' speech is disrupted. This can mean stuttering, lisps, etc. Someone who is totally unable to speak due to a speech disorder is considered mute. Speech disorders refer to problems in producing the sounds of speech or with the quality of voice. In many cases the cause is unknown. However, there are various known causes of speech impediments, such as "hearing loss, neurological disorders, brain injury, mental retardation, drug abuse, physical impairments such as cleft lip and palate, and vocal abuse or misuse. This new and important book gathers the latest research from around the globe in the study of speech disorders with a focus on such topics as: speech and voice disorders in Parkinson's Disease, genetic causes, stuttering therapy for adolescents and adults, prosody and autism spectrum disorder, speech rehabilitation after oropharyngeal cancer, mutism, dyslexia and others.
Speech Sound Disorders in Children by
Call Number: WL 340.2 B531s 2022
Previously published as Articulation and Phonological Disorders, this classic text is the leading resource for courses on articulation, phonology, and speech sound disorders. Now in its ninth edition, this book continues to offer the most up-to-date and comprehensive discussion of the clinical literature and evidence-based treatment available"
Stuttering : an integrated approach to its nature and treatment by
Call Number: WM 475 P483s 2019
"This updated edition of the most comprehensive, pedagogically sound textbook in the field provides an overview of stuttering's etiology and development, details the latest approaches to accurate assessment and treatment, and provides new case studies and online videos that illustrate different levels and ways of treating stuttering. Exploring a variety of practice settings, the book covers evidence-based practice, counseling, IEPs, and assistive devices and has been thoroughly updated to address all current methodologies"
Voice Therapy : Clinical Case Studies by
Call Number: RF510 .V68 2019
This book provides both the student and the working clinician with a broad sampling of management strategies as presented through clinical case studies by master voice clinicians, laryngologists, and other voice care professionals. Through concise patient histories, pre- and post-treatment evaluations, and tailored therapeutic approaches, this classic text addresses assessment, management, as well as treatment and therapy approaches for a range of voice disorders; muscle tension dysphonia, glottal incompetence and neurogenic disorders, and professional voice care.
To find additional quality information online, try using Google Scholar, which searches an academically-oriented subset of online materials:
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 173,070 audiologists, speech-language pathologists, speech, language, and hearing scientists, audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel, and students.
ASHA - Evidence Based Practice
Tools and information for incorporating the principles of evidence-based practice into clinical decision making are provided to support high quality clinical care.
ASHA -Evidence Maps
Evidence maps are intended to provide clinicians, researchers, clients, and caregivers with tools and guidance to engage in evidence-based decision making
General information on benefits of ASHA certification, code of ethics, exams, and other issues.
ASHA Practice Portal
The goal of ASHA's Practice Portal is to facilitate clinical decision making and increase practice efficiency for audiologists and speech-language pathologists by providing resources on clinical and professional topics and linking to available evidence. Learn more about our content development process.
Includes current and archival publications, newsletters, and most recent trends in research.
ASHA Scholarly Journals
An indispensable resource for scientists, clinicians, and students with groundbreaking research in communication sciences and disorders.
Careers in Speech Language Pathology
Provides information on job search resources, career development, recruitment, jobs for students, etc.
Clinical Research - Speech Language Pathology (NIH)
The Speech Language Pathology team conducts research collaboratively and independently. The research primarily involves identifying and reducing functional limitations associated with various aspects of communication and swallowing. Oral video-fluorography evaluations of swallowing are used in patients with neurological and neuromuscular conditions as well as head and neck cancer. Research studies in development will focus on genetic and neurological disorders that affect speech, swallowing and language deficits. Some current research activities are addressing:
Clinical Topics and Disorders in Speech-Language Pathology
Some of the clinical topics and disorders in Speech Language Pathology are listed below.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders And Stroke
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke -NINDS’ mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the brain and nervous system and to use that knowledge to reduce the burden of neurological disease.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
NIDCD conducts and supports research in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language.
Academic Video Online (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Over 67,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including business, counseling & therapy, education, health, and nursing.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes 100 streaming-media titles, primarily in education, psychology, and
literature, with some titles in history and science.