LibGuides: Geriatrics: Geriatrics Resources

Geriatrics Resources

Ask a Librarian!

Ryan Fasset

Library Info

Library FAQ
Locations & Hours

How-To Guides

For Students: Getting Started with Research
Writing Resources
Citing Sources
Video Tutorials
Online Learning and Teaching

Chat

Geriatrics Resources

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Introduction

According to the Encyclopædia Britannica, "Geriatrics is the branch of medical science concerned with the prevention and treatment of diseases in older people; it is thus a part of the broader field of gerontology."

Geriatrics not only encompasses the biological and physiological aspects of aging, but the psychological aspects as well.

Gerontology and geriatrics. (n.d.). Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved June 4, 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/science/gerontology

Databases

Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to geriatrics.

If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about geriatrics by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window Designed for physical therapy students and educators, especially those preparing for the National Physical Therapy Examination. Includes eBooks, quick reference materials, drug information, a video library, images, examination reviews, an interactive online dissection tool, neuroscience lectures, and case studies.
BASE This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
F.A. Davis PT Collection on AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window Includes more than 40 physical-therapy eBook titles.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
JAMA Network Journals & Archives Journals This link opens in a new window Includes access to JAMA and the 9 JAMA specialty journals (formerly the Archives journals) from 1998 forward. Also includes the JAMA Network Archives Journals backfile, with some titles dating back to the 1910s.
JURN This link opens in a new window Covers open access academic articles and books on the arts and humanities, as well as science, computer science, medicine, psychology, pharmacology, and economics.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health, cytology, nursing, nutrition, oncology, pediatric care, pharmacology, public health, radiology.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale) This link opens in a new window Includes articles on direct patient care, healthcare administration, and more. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Large abstract and citation database containing bothpeer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Contains over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers and supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and the arts and humanities.
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Allows searching across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

eJournals

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or where it says Catalog Find Print Books on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, etc. Search just eBooks by selecting eBooks on the library homepage. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Case Studies in Geriatric Primary Care and Multimorbidity Management by Karen Dick; Terry Mahan Buttaro
ISBN: 9780323479981
Publication Date: 2019-02-27
Available at Kings Highway!
Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment by Alberto Pilotto (Editor); Finbarr C. Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319625027
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
Available at the Health Sciences Library and as an eBook!
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics 2E by C. Seth Landefeld; Anna Chang; Rebecca Conant; Cyrus Ahalt; Helen Chen; Brie Williams
ISBN: 9780071792080
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Available at the Health Sciences Library & as an eBook!
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition by Barbara Resnick; Robert L. Kane; Joseph G. Ouslander; Michael L. Malone
ISBN: 9781259860515
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
Available at the Health Sciences Library & as an eBook!
Evidence-Based Geriatric Medicine by Jayna Holroyd-Leduc (Editor); Madhuri Reddy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444337181
Publication Date: 2012-05-07
Available at Midtown and as an eBook!
Geriatric Education for Emergency Medical Services by David R. Snyder; American Geriatrics Society Staff (Contribution by); National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) Staff
ISBN: 9781449641917
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
The Merck Manual of Geriatrics by Mark H. Beers (Editor); Robert Berkow (Editor)
ISBN: 0911910883
Publication Date: 2000-08-15
Available as a reference book at Midtown, the Health Sciences Library and Kew Gardens Hills. Also available as an eBook!
Psychology and Geriatrics by Benjamin A. Bensadon (Editor)
ISBN: 9780124201811
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Available as an eBook!