LibGuides: Physician Assistant: First Year

DISCLAIMER

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Access Medicine
A comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Contains dissection videos, exams, and glossary of terms for all your anatomy needs.
Anatomy TV from Primal Pictures
The most medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic renderings of human anatomy.
Bates Visual Guide
Features head-to-toe and systems physical exam videos completely re-shot with an emphasis on clinical accuracy and patient care.
DSM-5 from Psychiatry Online
FIFTH EDITION | DSM-5®
The latest edition of the most comprehensive resource used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic & legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles related to the field of Physician Assistant. If you would like to see the full list of health science databases available to Touro students click here.

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from academic journals. For scholarly articles, databases should be your first stop!

*If accessing from off-campus, you will need to log-in using your Touro One credentials.

Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
PubMed @ Touro
Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
TRIP Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Allows searching across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Books & eBooks

Ballweg's Physician Assistant: a Guide to Clinical Practice by Tamara S. Ritsema; Darwin L. Brown; Daniel T. Vetrosky
Call Number: W 21.5 P5775 2022
ISBN: 9780323654166
Publication Date: 2021-05-17
Available at the Health Sciences Library & as an eBook!
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano
Call Number: WB 205 B583b 2021
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve) & Cross River (On Reserve)!
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
Call Number: W 13 D7111 2020
ISBN: 9781455756438
Publication Date: 2019-12-09
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
Fundamentals of Microbiology by Jeffrey C. Pommerville
Call Number: QW 4 A346f 2018
ISBN: 9781284211757
Publication Date: 2021-03-29
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve) & as an eBook!
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by Emine E. Abali; Susan D. Cline; David S. Franklin; Susan M. Viselli
Call Number: QU 18.2 C451L 2022
ISBN: 9781975155063
Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology by Karen Whalen
Call Number: QV 18.2 M995p 2019
ISBN: 9781496384133
Publication Date: 2018-10-10
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Merck
Call Number: WB 39 M555 2018
ISBN: 9780911910421
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Available at Cross River (Reference Only) & the Health Sciences Library (Reference Only)!
Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
Call Number: QS 39 M822e 2019
ISBN: 9781496369659
Publication Date: 2019-02-13
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
Mosby's® Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa Noel Pagana
Call Number: QY 39 P128 2022
ISBN: 9780323697033
Publication Date: 2021-08-10
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve) and Cross River!
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set by Robert M. Kliegman; Joseph St. Geme
Call Number: WS 100 N432 2020
ISBN: 9780323529501
Publication Date: 2019-04-19
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve) & as an eBook!
Principles of Rubin's Pathology by Emanuel Rubin; Howard M. Reisner
Call Number: QZ 4 R896 2019
ISBN: 9781496350329
Publication Date: 2018-11-03
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve) and Cross River!

Clinical Medicine for Physician Assistants by James Van Rhee; Christine Bruce; Stephanie Neary
Call Number: WB 102 C641 2023
ISBN: 9780826182425
Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Available at Cross River & as an eBook!
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & Gynecology, 12th Edition by Alan H. DeCherney; Ashley S. Roman; Lauren Nathan; Neri Laufer
Call Number: WQ 100 C976 2019
ISBN: 9780071833905
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Fifth Edition by William W. Hay; Myron J. Levin; Mark J. Abzug; Maya Bunik
Call Number: WS 141 C936 2020
ISBN: 9781260457827
Publication Date: 2020-05-22
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Michael W. Rabow; Kenneth R. McQuaid; Monica Gandhi
ISBN: 9781266266232
Publication Date: 2024-08-22
Essentials of Otolaryngology by Frank E. Lucente (Editor); Gady Har-El (Editor); Ari J. Goldsmith (Associate Editor); Neil M. Sperling (Associate Editor); Jon B. Turk (Associate Editor)
Call Number: WV 140 E78 2004
ISBN: 9780781747073
Publication Date: 2003-11-12
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, Tenth Edition by David G. Gardner; Dolores M. Shoback
Call Number: WK 102 B311 2018
ISBN: 9781259589287
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library & Cross River (On Reserve)!
Guide to Clinical Documentation by Debra D. Sullivan
Call Number: W 80 S949g 2019
ISBN: 0803666624
Publication Date: 2018-08-16
Physical copy also available at the School of Health Sciences (On Reserve)!
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
Call Number: WB 115 H322 2022
ISBN: 9781264268504
Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Physical copy also available at the School of Health Sciences (On Reserve)!
Human Physiology by Stuart Ira Fox
ISBN: 9781260720464
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by David L. Katz; Dorothea Wild; Joann G. Elmore; Sean C. Lucan
Call Number: WA 950 J47 2014
ISBN: 9781455706587
Publication Date: 2013-02-11
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library!
Neurology for the Non-Neurologist by William J. Weiner (Editor); Christopher G. Goetz (Editor); Robert K. Shin (Editor); Steven L. Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: WL 140 N4928 2010
ISBN: 9781605472393
Publication Date: 2010-08-07
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
Physician Assistant: a Guide to Clinical Practice by Ruth Ballweg; Edward M. Sullivan; Darwin Brown; Daniel Vetrosky
Call Number: W 21.5 P5775 2018
ISBN: 9781455706570
Publication Date: 2013-02-08
Physical copy also available at Cross River & the Health Sciences Library!
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by Donald Yealy; Garth D. Meckler; J. Stephan Stapczynski; David M. Cline; Stephen H. Thomas; Judith E. Tintinalli; O. John Ma
Call Number: WB 105 T593 2020
ISBN: 9781260019933
Publication Date: 2019-10-18
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!

Classroom to Clinic Study System by Mona M. Sedrak; Scott Massey
Call Number: W 18.2 S43 2011
ISBN: 9780803623538
Publication Date: 2010-12-22
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
A Comprehensive Review for the Certification and Recertification Examinations for PAs by Claire Babcock O'Connell; Thea Cogan-Drew
Call Number: W 18.2 C738 2023
ISBN: 9781975158200
Publication Date: 2022-08-16
Available at Cross River!
Davis's PA Exam Review by Morton A. Diamond
Call Number: W 18.2 D5377d 2019
ISBN: 9780803668096
Publication Date: 2018-07-09
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library & Cross River!
Davis's PA Exam Review by Morton A. Diamond
Call Number: W18.2 D537 2019
ISBN: 9780803689572
Publication Date: 2018-12-19
Available at Cross River!
LANGE Q&a Physician Assistant Examination, Eighth Edition by Rachel Carlson; Danielle Kempton; Ian McLeod; Bob McMullen
Call Number: W 18.2 A649 2022
ISBN: 9781260474145
Publication Date: 2022-02-08
Available at Cross River!
Medical Pance by Kaplan Publishing Staff (Editor)
Call Number: W 18.2 S35p 2011
ISBN: 9781419550515
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Available at the Health Sciences Library & Cross River!
PANCE (Physician Assistant National Certifying Exam) by Doris Rapp
ISBN: 9780738605067
Publication Date: 2009-06-29
PANCE/PANRE Qbook by Kaplan
Call Number: W 18.2 P188 2016
ISBN: 9781625232649
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
PANCE: Power Practice by Learning Express Editors
Call Number: W 18.2 P36 2012
ISBN: 9781576858974
Publication Date: 2012-05-16
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
Pance Prep Pearls by Dwayne Williams
Call Number: W 18.2 W442 2014
ISBN: 9781497396876
Publication Date: 2014-04-17
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
PANCE Strategies, Practice, and Review with 2 Practice Tests by Kaplan
Call Number: W 18.2 S39 2014
ISBN: 9781609788964
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Available at the Health Sciences Library!

Physician Assistant

Librarian

Physician Assistant Resources

DISCLAIMER

Databases

Books & eBooks