LibGuides: GCAN 306: Event Management: Event Planning Resources

General Event Planning

There are many websites that pool resources on event venues, catering, entertainment, and other planning tools. Check out some of the sites below to get started.

Sample Planning Documents

Event Budget Excel Template

Many of these documents have institution-specific sections that will not be relevant to your project, but they can serve as an excellent example of what types of tasks and items you will need to consider.

Invitations & Marketing

Smore
Use templates to create attractive posters and share directly via social networks.
Canva
An easy-to-use graphic design interface to create posters, logos, programs, and more. Example.
Evite
Virtual and printed invitations and tracking for all types of events.
Paperless Post
Design and send online or print invitations.
Zazzle
Print & electronic invitations.
Punchbowl
Online invitations with free designs and paid plans for larger events.

About Using Images and Media from the Internet

When reusing pictures, video, or other media you should understand how the creator of the material allows it to be shared. Public domain material can be used without attribution (saying where you got it), while Creative Commons licensed material usually requires attribution. Checkout our Creative Commons Guide for more information. See the box below for media sources.

Find Public Domain and Creative Commons Resources

Creative Commons Aggregate Image Search
This search allows you to find images across platforms that are available for use with Creative Commons licenses.
Pixabay
All content on this website is free to use, check their FAQ section for specifics.
Wikimedia Commons
An extensive list of freely licensed media, check permissions before using
The Noun Project
Free CC BY icons; can make a paid account to license all content in Noun Project so you don’t have to attribute, can also pay for individual icons one-by-one without attribution
Open Images
Open Images provides open access to archival audiovisual materials.
Public Health Image Library
The Public Health Image Library provdies free, copyright-cleared health sciences images, both historical and current.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (Open Access Images)
This search connects to the open access image collection from the Metropolitan Museum of Art (Note: not all of the Met's collection is open access, please check permissions or ask a librarian for help before using).

LibriVox
LibriVox provides free public domain audiobooks recorded by volunteers.
Freesound
Creative Commons-licensed sound effects, including audio snippets, samples, recordings, and bleeps.
Free Music Archive
The Free Music Archive provides access to royalty-free music with Creative Commons licenses.
Musopen
Musopen includes audio recordings, sheet musics, and textbook without copyright restrictions.

YouTube
To find YouTube videos with Creative Commons licenses, type in your search term and click enter. Then, select "Filters" and under "Features", select Creative Commons.
NASA Video Gallery
Because NASA is a U.S. government agency, these videos are in the public domain and are free for the public to use.

The Public Domain Project (Pond5)
This search option allows you to find historical media that is now in public domain, which means that it can be used without restriction.
Wellcome Collections
The Wellcome Collection houses medical and ethnographic images and artwork, and has made this media, along with digital books, freely licensed.

Music & Film Licensing

Event Accessibility

A Planning Guide for Making Temporary Events Accessible to People With Disabilities

Sustainable Events

Keywords: sustainable/sustainability, green, low-impact, farm-to-table, environmentally-friendly, eco-friendly, earth-friendly

FAU Guide to Planning a Sustainable Event

Additional Resources

This guide was created by librarians at Touro University and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

GCAN 306: Event Management

Ask a Librarian!

Chat

How-To Guides

Library Info

Student Projects