Skip to Main Content
ask a librarian logo


This guide was created to support the Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) Masters and Advanced Certificate Programs at Touro College.

New York State Teacher Certification Exam Requirements

The following tests are required for New York State Teacher Certification. The first three tests are requried of all New York State Teachers, followed by the four required tests for a TESOL Certificate.

Initial Exams:

  1. Liberal Arts and Sciences Test (LAST)
  2. Assessment of Teach Skills - Written (ATS-W)
  3. Content Speciality Test (CST)

TESOL Exams:

  1. Academic Literacy Skills Test (ALST)
  2. Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  3. Content Speciality Test (CST) - ESO, 
  4. Bilingual Education Assessment (BEA) - For Bilingual Education Only 

For more information on state requirements for TESOL Certification see the Touro College Graduate School of Education Certification Page.

Also view the Resources Page for information regarding general state certification requirements, account set up, intership certification details and other useful information.

Certification Resources

Stay connected!

Like us on FacebookLike us on Facebook Follow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter View our InstagramView our Instagram Read our BlogRead our Blog Watch our VideosWatch our Videos