LibGuides: TESOL: Web Resources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an internet search engine geared specifically for scholarly literature. It is a great tool to explore citations, related works, and authors. A Google Scholar search may retreive articles and abstracts for journlas that are not available in full text online, but can be located through the databases at the Touro College Library.

Did you know that Google Scholar can let you know when the Full Text of an article is available through your college library subscriptions? To enable this feature, click the gear icon in the top right corner of the search page. Go to Library Links and type in Touro College, then select Touro College - Find it @ Touro and save your preferences. Remember to sign in with your Google Account each time for these preferences to remain throughout your searching!

Remember to use the search tips and methods detailed on the previous page!

Recommended Websites

Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL)
The Center for Applied Linguistics is a nonprofit organization promoting access, equity and mutual understanding for linguistically and culturally diverse people around the world. The sites resources include a comprehensive range of research-based language and cultural education resources and testing tools.
National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition (NCELA)
THE NCELA supports the U.S. Department of Education's office of English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement and Academic Achievement for Limited English Proficient Students. Their website Contains data, demographics and resources for teaching and professional development.
Using English
A collection of English as a Second Language tools and resources for students, teachers, learners, and academics spanning the spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, EAP subjects.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education, and is an excellent resource to locate statistical data on a variety of education subjects.
Teaching Channel
Teaching Channel is a video showcase of teaching practices in America's schools, with a specific toolkit for English Language Learners.
The Internet TESL Journal
This site compiles lesson plans, web based games, quizzes, tests and exercises for ESL students, as well as articles and studies of teaching techniques. As this is not an established scholarly journal, be sure to use the 5 W?'s for assessing these sources!
Understanding Language -Stanford University
The website, maintained by Stanford University, contains a wealth of teaching resources that support language development in all content areas, specifically focusing on the role that language plays in the new Common Core Standards and Next Generation Science Standards.
New York State Education Department Office of Bilingual Education and Foreign Language Studies
Provides support and technical assistance to Districts, Charter Schools, Non-Public Schools and other organizations (Universities, State Educational Organizations, etc.) in the development, implementation and evaluation of programs for English language learners (ELLs), as well as to foreign language (FL) students within the State’s P-16 initiative.

App Corner

Get organized and stay connected to library resources with these recommended apps!

Duolingo
Learn a language for free with Duolingo online or the Duolingo app.
FluentU
"FluentU takes real-world videos—like music videos, commercials, news, cartoons and inspiring talks—and turns them into English learning experiences." Available as a free version or premium paid version.
Speak English App
App reads a phrase to the user, user then records themselves speaking the same phrase, then the app allows the user to compare both recordings.
BrowZine
[ipad] Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available through a subscription by Touro College Libraries.

TESOL

Evaluating Websites

Who? What? Where? When? Why?

Use the 5 W's to determine whether or not a website is "credible."

Professional Organizations

LibGuides

Google Scholar

Recommended Websites

App Corner

Get organized and stay connected to library resources with these recommended apps!