LibGuides: TESOL: Library Resources

Ask a librarian!

Sara Tabaei

Email Me

Subjects: Online Learning and Teaching, Research and Scholarship

Chat

Library Information

How-To Guides

Student Guide Handout

ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.

TESOL at Touro

Learn more about the Touro Graduate School of Education's MS in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) and Advanced Certificate in TESOL.

The MS in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) program helps NYS-certified PreK-12 teachers more effectively teach and communicate with a diverse student population. The TESOL certificate program prepares NYS-certified teachers to provide responsive, comprehensive education to students of every background.

Databases

Use databases to search for articles relating to your subject. Unlike a singular journal (or ahem, google), databases search a number of sources at one time, and provide many different search options and filters. For example, you can limit your database search to only articles written in a specific time span, as well as select only peer reviewed or scholarly articles.

The databases below are an excellent place to begin your search:

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers primary, secondary, higher, special, adult education, home schooling; etc.

Click here for a list education specific databases and here for a complete list of databases available through the Touro College Library.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, hundreds international newspapers, nearly 30,000 full text dissertations, and concise business information from nearly 9,000 market reports.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks.

Oxford Journals
Includes academic and research journals from Oxford University Press covering a broad range of subject areas.

Individual Journals and E-Journals that may be of interest include:

Bilingualism: Language and Cognition
An international peer-reviewed journal focusing on bilingualism from a linguistic, psycholinguistic, and neuroscientific perspective. This title is also available in print at the Touro College Bay Shore Library.
ELT Journal: English Language Teaching Journal
Contains articles aimed at those professionally involved in the field of teaching English as a second or foreign language as well as fundamental factors influencing the evolution of the profession and theoretical issues relevant to it.
International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism
This journal aims to spread international developments, initiatives, ideas and research on bilingualism and bilingual education, and to ensure collaboration between different continents, allowing rapid access to up-to-date information in an easily digestible form.
Language Teaching Research : LTR
A peer reviewed journal of investigation and research within the area of second/foreign language teaching. Provides research of both a qualitative and quantitative nature.
Linguistics & Education
A peer reviewed journal focusing on studies that apply theory and method from all areas of linguistics to the study of education.
Second Language Research
A journal promoting research linking second language studies with neighboring disciplines which contribute to the understanding of the psychological mechanisms that guide learners' individual behavior and their interaction with other language users.
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
A peer reviewed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of issues in second and foreign language acquisition of any language.
TESOL Journal
A refereed, practitioner-oriented, electronic journal based on current theory and research in the field of TESOL.
TESOL Quarterly
A professional, refereed journal with articles on topics of significance to individuals concerned with the teaching of ESL/EFL and standard English as a second dialect. *Several years available in print at Bay Shore Library*

A full list of e-journal titles availalbe through Touro College can also be found here.

Master the art of database searching through the use of search techniques detailed in the video below!

Methods include:

The use of Booleen operators:
- AND - between two words to narrow a search
- NOT- between two words to narrow a search by exclusion
- OR - between two words to expand a search
Truncation: dropping part of a word and replacing it with a symbol to broaden the search
- For example: music* also searches for musical, musician, musicians, music's, etc
Citation Searching: using the works cited page of a specific article/book/abstract to find additional related materials
Phrase Searching: using quotation marks around a specific phrase to ensure the entire phrase is found.

Keep in mind that search options vary for each database. Specific information and methods are available on the database's home page, help page, or advanced search page.

Additional Questions? Check out the video tutorials below to fine tune your database searching skills!

Books & E-books

Search QuickSearch for all items in the library.

Classroom Instruction That Works with English Language Learners by Jane Hill; Kathleen Flynn
Call Number: LC3731 .H554 2006eb
ISBN: 9781416603900
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Teaching English Language Learners Across the Content Areas by Judie Haynes; Debbie Zacarian
Call Number: PE1128.A2 H3836 2010eb
ISBN: 9781416610427
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Cambridge Guide to Second Language Teacher Education by Richards, Jack C.; Burns, Anne
ISBN: 9780521760126
Publication Date: 2009
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition by Susan M. Gass (Editor); Alison Mackey (Editor)
Call Number: P118.2 .R68 2012eb
ISBN: 9780415479936
Publication Date: 2012-01-12
The Multilingual Turn by Stephen May (Editor)
Call Number: P118.2 .M86 2014
ISBN: 9780415534321
Publication Date: 2013-07-30
The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 by Luciana C. de Oliveira
Call Number: PE1128.A2 .H363 2019
ISBN: 9781119421726
Publication Date: 2019-04-08

Fifty Strategies for Teaching English Language Learners by Adrienne L. Herrell; Michael L. Jordan
Call Number: PE1128.A2 H467 2012
ISBN: 9780132487504
Publication Date: 2011-01-26
Mastering ESL and Bilingual Methods by Socorro G. Herrera; Kevin G. Murry
Call Number: PE1128.A2 H4675 2011
ISBN: 9780137056699
Publication Date: 2010-11-04
The ESL/ELL Teacher's Survival Guide by Larry Ferlazzo; Katie Hull Sypnieski
Call Number: PE1128.A2 F455 2012
ISBN: 9781118095676
Publication Date: 2012-08-06
*e-book version also available
Teaching English As a Second Language by Richard McGarry
Call Number: PE1128.A2 M386 2012
ISBN: 9780786470624
Publication Date: 2012-07-30
Teaching English Language Learners Through Technology by Tony Erben; Ruth Ban; Martha Castaueda; Tony Erben; Martha E. Castañeda
Call Number: PE1128.3 .E73 2009
ISBN: 9780415957670
Publication Date: 2008-08-13
Teaching English Language Learners Across the Content Areas by Judie Haynes; Debbie Zacarian
Call Number: PE1128.A2 H3836 2010
ISBN: 9781416609124
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
*e-book version also available

Multimedia

Different forms of multimedia are an excellent way to promote learning as well as engaging students. Below is a sample of some of the educational resources available. For a full-list of our video resources, please see the library's homepage and click on "streaming videos" under in the "Find" tab.