LibGuides: OER Subject Guides: Communication

Communication

Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies [2016]
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.
Intercultural Learning: Critical preparation for international student travel [2018, updated 2019]
Intercultural learning: Critical preparation for international student travel aims to take students beyond practical preparation, to equip them with a critical lens through which to view and understand their international experiences. The book leads students toward a deeper understanding of culture and cultural difference through an exploration of challenging concepts such as imperialism, racism, privilege and intercultural practice.

As an adjunct to traditional approaches, the book adds a significant and valuable dimension to the process of preparing students for international study, increasing the potential for meaningful and transformative learning experiences.
Interpersonal Communication
Overview: The WIL Open Module Initiative includes over 30 open access, learner-centred modules to support Work-Integrated Learning preparedness among post-secondary students. This module includes content and activities that will support participants in communicating effectively with their colleagues and clients face-to-face in work integrated learning (WIL) experiences. For more information and to access SCORM files,Articulate Storyline source files and Facilitator Guide for this module, visit https://www.niagaracollege.ca/cae/wil/
more...less...
Subject: Business and Communication, Career and Technical Education Level: Community College / Lower Division, Adult Education Material Type: Module Author: Algonquin College, Georgian College, Lambton College, Niagara College Provider: Niagara College Provider Set: WIL Open Module Initiative Date Added: 04/01/2017
Principles of Public Speaking [2019]
In Principles of Public Speaking, students learn how to prepare and deliver effective oral presentations, with an emphasis on informative and persuasive public speaking. The course introduces important elements of successful presentations including effective listening, presentation organization, and logical structure; informative and persuasive speech; use of visual aids, research, and evidence; ethical considerations; and techniques for building confidence in public speaking.

License: This courseware includes resources copyrighted and openly licensed by multiple individuals and organizations. Click the words "Licenses and Attributions" at the bottom of each page for copyright and licensing information specific to the material on that page.
Exploring Public Speaking: 4th Edition
In fifteen chapters the authors have attempted to address all the major concerns, issues, and material that an introductory, freshmen-level public speaking course involves. Beginning with the value of public speaking to one’s life and overcoming public speaking anxiety, the subsequent chapters cover listening and audience analysis; plagiarism and ethics; invention and thesis development; research; organization; introductions, conclusions, and transitions; supporting material; delivery; visual aids; language choices; informative speaking; persuasive speaking; logic and fallacies; and special occasion speeches. The book was written with students in the open access college and with diversity in mind.
Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking [2016, updated 2023]
Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking features two key themes. First it focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and second is its emphasis on ethics in communication. It is this practical approach and integrated ethical coverage that sets Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking apart from the other texts in this market
Public Speaking: Practice and Ethics
This is another option for a public speaking textbook.

Professional Communication

This resource is divided in 4 modules: foundations, writing, presentation, and interpersonal. The modules can be downloaded in full as a textbook, or separately. Besides the textbook, all modules contain lesson slides, lecture notes, activities, multimedia assets and assessments.

Professional Communication will be useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication or business writing. The resources is openly available under a Creative Commons license, and may be reused or adapted. It contains four modules, each with its own lesson plans, assets, assessments and supporting materials.

Business Communication: Written & Verbal Presentation Skills

This course allows students to develop effective written and verbal communication strategies specifically for the workplace. From idea gathering to drafting to delivery, this course will prepare students to effectively write, present, and communicate in a variety of methods and styles, tailored to professional audiences.

English for Business Success

Business English for Success is a creative solution to a common challenge across Business Communication courses: Business English or Business Presentations? Some classes place an equal emphasis on oral and written communication, and if that is the case for you please let me direct you to our online text Business Communication for Success. If, however, your class places the emphasis squarely on written communication and writing proficiency then this book is for you.

Business Communication for Success

Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.

Introduction to Communication Research: Becoming a Scholar
Welcome to your journey to becoming a communication scholar! We developed this workbook to guide you through the semester as you learn how understand and conduct scholarly research. What does it mean to be a scholar? A scholar is someone who specializes in a particular area of study. For you, this area is communication. And how do you become a scholar? By doing research.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.
Message Processing: The Science of Creating Understanding
The text provides an upper-level undergraduate introduction and explanation of the social and cognitive processes involved in human communication, focusing on how people create understanding.

Message Processing: The Science of Creating Understanding by Jessica Gasiorek is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
A Guide to Technical Communications: Strategies & Applications
Welcome to the textbook for Engineering Technical Communications courses at The Ohio State University. Our aim in writing this textbook was to create a resource specifically focused on and applicable to the kinds of communication skills most beneficial to the students who take our courses. Therefore, this textbook focuses on developing both technical and professional communication skills and will help readers practice strategies for critically analyzing audiences and contexts, real-world applications of rhetorical principles, and skills for producing documents (reports, proposals, instructions), presentations, videos, and wide variety of other professional communications.

Attribution-NonCommercial
CC BY-NC
Writing for Strategic Communication Industries
Good writing skills are important in today's competitive work environment. This is especially the case for communication-related professions such as public relations, brand communication, journalism, and marketing. Writing for Strategic Communication Industries emphasizes practical application of academic inquiry to help readers improve their writing skills.

Attribution-NonCommercial
CC BY-NC
Information Strategies for Communicators
Written by two nationally recognized experts in information strategy, Information Strategies for Communicators leads students step-by-step through the information search and evaluation process for news and strategic communication message production. The book includes a conceptual model of the information strategy process, case studies to illustrate the process in action, and links to current examples throughout.

Attribution: CC BY
Selected Assignments for Interpersonal Communications
Materials created by Joshua Halberstam, CUNY Bronx Community College

Tools for Podcasting, by Jill Olmsted
Welcome! If you’re interested in learning about the growing universe of podcasting, how it works and finding tools and inspiration to create your own podcast, this online resource is for you. You will find many audio and video clips that provide examples and video tutorials leading you through editing software, vocal delivery, promotion ideas and more. All videos have closed captioning and there is an extensive section on the importance of transcription of podcasts to enable web accessibility for the deaf, hearing impaired and language learning audiences. There is also an emphasis on diversity and inclusion with resources listing mentorships and employment opportunities. For even more information click on the extensive links throughout this e-book.
more...less...
Preface by Jill Olmsted is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

textbook cover Understanding Media and Culture

According to the author, the world did not need another introductory text in mass communication. But the world did need another kind of introductory text in mass communication, and that is how Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication was birthed.

https://doi.org/10.24926/8668.2601

Includes Question Bank.

textbook cover From the introduction:

Welcome to The Beginner's Guide to Social Media! Whether you're new to social media or just looking to close a few knowledge gaps, we're glad you stopped by. By now, we've all heard how valuable—even essential—social media can be. Whether your current sentiment leans more toward enthusiasm or trepidation, there's no way around the fact that social media is a far more complex field than it first seems. Diving in without a sense for what it's like can be overwhelming, and building a network that provides real value takes both savvy and hard work, but fear not—we're here to help! We hope you'll find this to be one of the most comprehensive social media resources available, and that no matter what your skill level is, there's plenty in here to help you improve your social presence. What are we waiting for? Let's dive in!

Available at: https://moz.com/beginners-guide-to-social-media

Print PDF here: http://d2eeipcrcdle6.cloudfront.net/guides/beginners_guide_to_social_media.pdf

book cover

Teaching Crowds: Learning and Social Media

Jon Dron, Athabasca University

Terry Anderson, Athabasca University

Publisher: Athabasca University Press

Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs
CC BY-NC-ND

From the Open Textbook Library:

In Teaching Crowds, Dron and Anderson introduce a new model for understanding and exploiting the pedagogical potential of Web-based technologies, one that rests on connections — on networks and collectives — rather than on separations. Recognizing that online learning both demands and affords new models of teaching and learning, the authors show how learners can engage with social media platforms to create an unbounded field of emergent connections. These connections empower learners, allowing them to draw from one another's expertise to formulate and fulfill their own educational goals. In an increasingly networked world, developing such skills will, they argue, better prepare students to become self-directed, lifelong learners.

Media, Society, Culture and You
Media, Society, Culture, and You is an approachable introductory Mass Communication text that covers major mass communication terms and concepts including "digital culture." It discusses various media platforms and how they are evolving as Information and Communication Technologies change.

Open Education Resources for Teaching Graduate Journalism Students
A model news research methods curriculum for graduate journalism students, based on [the] curriculum at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY. It is designed to advance the rigorousness of journalists’ research and fact-checking, so they can add context, detail, and history to their reporting, and improve their accuracy, in order to contribute to a more informed citizenry.