LibGuides: Schizophrenia: Home

Ask a Librarian!

Annette Carr

Email Me

Chat

Library Info

How-To Guides

Student Guide Handout

ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Recommended Websites

American Psychiatric Association (APA) - Schizophrenia
American Psychiatric Association is an organization of psychiatrists working together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness.
Living with Schizophrenia
Living with schizophrenia was set up by people who have direct personal experience of the condition.
Mental Health America - Schizophrenia
The nation’s leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) - Schizophrenia
NAMI provides advocacy, education, support and public awareness so that all individuals and families affected by mental illness can build better lives.
Schizophrenia & Psychosis Action Alliance
Our vision is to see schizophrenia and psychosis spectrum disorders universally recognized and treated as neurobiological brain illnesses.

Schizophrenia Simulation Videos

Schizophrenia Simulation Videos are audiovisual experiences that give the viewer an idea of what it is like to experience the illness. These simulations are created to be authentic by using patient descriptions of the illness.

Article Databases

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works (Vol. 1) This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a landmark database that contains more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Psychiatry Online (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of American Psychiatric Publishing books and journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry. Content dates back to 1844.
Psychology Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 300 journals covering nearly all topics related to psychology. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers clinical & social psychology, genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.

eVideos

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

Below are some popular eBooks that are available through Touro Library on the topic:

Ben Behind His Voices by Randye Kaye
Call Number: RC514 .K334 2011eb
ISBN: 9781442210912
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
eBook
Diagnosis - Schizophrenia by Rachel Miller; Susan Mason
Call Number: RC514 -- .D44 2010eb
ISBN: 9780231521024
Publication Date: 2011-01-03
eBook
Mind, Brain, and Schizophrenia by Peter Williamson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780198039198
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
eBook
Models of Madness by John Read (Editor, Editor); Professor Richard Bentall (Editor); Loren Mosher (Editor); Jacqui Dillon (Editor)
Call Number: RC514 -- .M5485 2013eb
ISBN: 9781134054954
Publication Date: 2013-06-19
eBook
The Origins of Schizophrenia by Alan Brown (Editor); Paul Patterson (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780231521925
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
eBook
Psychosocial Treatment of Schizophrenia by Allen Rubin; David W. Springer; Kathi Trawver
Call Number: RC514 .P71893 2010eb
ISBN: 9781118012208
Publication Date: 2011-02-02
eBook
Treating Psychosis by Aaron T. Beck (Foreword by); Owen P. Kelly; Andrew M. Jacobs; Douglas Turkington; David Davies; Jennifer Hopton; Nicola P. Wright
Call Number: RC489.A32 -- .T743 2014eb
ISBN: 9781608824083
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
eBook
Treating the Untreatable by Ira Steinman
Call Number: RC514 .S8123 2009eb
ISBN: 9781849406994
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
eBook

Case Studies of Schizophrenia

Below are videos of various patients diagnosed with schizophrenia.