According to OER Commons, "Open educational resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others." An OER gives you the five rights below:
Learn how to request materials from other Touro Library locations when searching the catalog under "Books & More".
Films on Demand
Based onBritannica: "Immigration, is the process through which individuals become permanent residents or citizens of another country. Historically, the process of immigration has been of great social, economic, and cultural benefit to states. The immigration experience is long and varied and has in many cases resulted in the development of multicultural societies; many modern states are characterized by a wide variety of cultures and ethnicities that have derived from previous periods of immigration."
Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.
While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.
Get started quickly with the seach bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you've registered for off-campus access.
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines, many going back to the mid-1800s. Includes the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, & VII; Business II; Health & General Science, Jewish Studies, Hebrew Journals.
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Library Initiative is a proposal for permanent state funding for NOVELNY, a pilot project for the Statewide Internet Library.
Provides access to journals, ebooks, dissertations, video, and news from ProQuest Central, Adademic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 (Gale)This link opens in a new windowProvided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Library Initiative is a proposal for permanent state funding for NOVELNY, a pilot project for the Statewide Internet Library.
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale)This link opens in a new windowProvided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Library Initiative is a proposal for permanent state funding for NOVELNY, a pilot project for the Statewide Internet Library.
Books & eBooks
Touro Library Catalog
All of Touro's print books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Catalog" tab on the library homepage). Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.
For eBooks use the eBooks link on library homepage.
The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:
Immigration is shaking up electoral politics around the world. Anti-immigration and ultranationalistic politics are rising in Europe, the United States, and countries across Asia and Africa. What is causing this nativist fervor? Are immigrants the cause or merely a common scapegoat?In Blaming Immigrants, economist Neeraj Kaushal investigates the rising anxiety in host countries and tests common complaints against immigration
Introduction -- The criminalization of immigration in the United States -- The police and immigration -- Immigration and the courts -- Detention and deportation of immigrants -- The consequences of criminalizing immigration -- Framing the immigration problem
Summary "Presents the history of immigration to the United States; its criminalization under the Trump administration; debates over criminalization; effects on immigrants, U.S. residents, and the U.S. economy; and this country's relationships with other nations"
U.S. immigration policy is governed largely by the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA), which was first codified in 1952 and has been amended significantly several times since. At a fundamental level, U.S. immigration policy can be viewed as two sides of a coin. One side emphasizes the faciliation of migration flows into the United States according to principles of admission that are based upon national interest
Immigration is one of the most polarizing issues in contemporary politics. It raises questions about identity, economic well-being, the legitimacy of state power, and the boundaries of membership and justice. How should we think about immigration and what policies should democratic societies pursue?
mmigration and Migration: Trends, Management and Challenges explores the governance of immigrant religious groups. More specifically, the opening paper uses Foucault's concept of governmentality as an analytical framework to frame a qualitative case study of Ghanaian and Somali immigrants in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.
"Immigration in American History is a concise examination of the experiences of immigrants from the founding of the British colonies through the present day. The most recent scholarship on immigration is integrated into an accessible narrative that embraces the multicultural nature of U.S. immigration history, keeping issues of race and power at the center of the book
"Immigration in American History is a concise examination of the experiences of immigrants from the founding of the British colonies through the present day. The most recent scholarship on immigration is integrated into an accessible narrative that embraces the multicultural nature of U.S. immigration history, keeping issues of race and power at the center of the book.
Now is the time for a reset. Immigration Matters oﬀers a new, actionable vision for immigration policy. It brings together key movement leaders and academics to share cutting-edge approaches to the urgent issues facing the immigrant community, along with fresh solutions to vexing questions of so-called “future ﬂows” that have bedeviled policy makers for decades. The book also explores the contributions of immigrants to the nation’s identity, its economy, and progressive movements for social change. Immigration
Outsourcing Control argues that while some countries - sharing an interest in ensuring orderly migration or recognizing the opportunity for kickbacks - have been happy to cooperate, others have objected, claiming wealthy destination states are exploiting them to do their dirty work. Tennis shows that these different responses depend on how the government in the partner country secures its power. Autocracies and strong democracies tend to cooperate, though for different reasons and in different ways. The most unpredictable partners are fragile democracies, who are prone to nationalism and populist backlash. The first comprehensive study to trace the emergence of extraterritorial migration control agreements across nations
To find additional quality information online, try using Google Scholar, which searches an academically-oriented subset of online materials:
The Center for Migration Studies of New York (CMS) is a think tank and an educational institute devoted to the study of international migration, to the promotion of understanding between immigrants and receiving communities, and to public policies that safeguard the dignity and rights of migrants, refugees and newcomers.
The Ellis Island National Museum of Immigration is a living monument to the story of the American people. Housed inside the restored Main Building of the former immigration complex, the Museum documents the rich story of American immigration through a carefully curated collection of photographs, heirlooms, and searchable historic records.
Since the passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the Office of Immigration Statistics has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components.
Founded in 1965, the Immigration History Research Center (IHRC) aims to transform the way in which we understand immigration in the past and present. Along with its partner, the IHRC Archives (University Libraries), it is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary research center and archives devoted to preserving and understanding immigrant and refugee life in North America. We promote interdisciplinary research on migration, race, and ethnicity in the United States and the world through monthly seminars and research grants.
Migration Policy Institute seeks to improve immigration and integration policies through authoritative research and analysis, opportunities for learning and dialogue, and the development of new ideas to address complex policy questions.
With its combination of breathtaking views and living history, the Statue of Liberty Museum stands as an inspiring and dynamic part of the Liberty Island experience, inviting visitors to dive into the story behind the sculpture and immerse themselves in unique artifacts.
The office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) was created in 1950, during the aftermath of the Second World War, to help millions of Europeans who had fled or lost their homes. We had three years to complete our work and then disband.
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services administers the nation’s lawful immigration system, safeguarding its integrity and promise by efficiently and fairly adjudicating requests for immigration benefits while protecting Americans, securing the homeland, and honoring our values.
Citizenship Studies is an academic journal that takes the discourse and practice of citizenship as an object of critical inquiry. This includes the affects, economies, ideologies, spatialities, subjectivities, and temporalities relevant to contending articulations of citizenship. We seek submissions that are responsive to forms of domination and control in relation to citizenship, as well as to modes of resistance and transformation. The journal addresses historical and contemporary questions of concern to various publics; it aims to cover a wide geographical scope and encourages approaches that attempt to move beyond methodological nationalism.
Diaspora is dedicated to the multidisciplinary study of the history, culture, social structure, politics and economics of both the traditional diasporas – Armenian, Greek, and Jewish – and those transnational dispersions which in the past three decades have chosen to identify themselves as ‘diasporas.’ These encompass groups ranging from the African-American to the Ukrainian-Canadian, from the Caribbean-British to the new East and South Asian diasporas.
Immigrants & Minorities , founded in 1981, provides a major outlet for research into the history of immigration and related studies. It seeks to deal with the complex themes involved in the construction of ’race’ and with the broad sweep of ethnic and minority relations within a historical setting. Its coverage is international and recent issues have dealt with studies on the USA, Australia, the Middle East and the UK. The journal also supports an extensive review section.
IJMBS addresses the whole range of technological, human/social, political, policy, organisational and managerial issues related to migration and border studies. IJMBS is a peer-reviewed journal which offers a forum for disciplinary and inter-disciplinary research concerning conceptual, theoretical, empirical and methodological dimensions of migration and border studies. It aims to bring together a diverse range of international scholars and practitioners to advance knowledge, improve practice, and act as a definitive source on migration and border issues.
The International Migration Review (IMR) is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created to encourage and facilitate the study of all aspects of international migration. Established in 1964, IMR is widely regarded as the leading scholarly journal in the field of international migration, ethnic group relations and refugee movements. It represents the single most comprehensive forum devoted exclusively to the analysis and review of international migration.
The Journal of Immigrant & Refugee Studies is a double-blind, peer-reviewed publication, interdisciplinary and international in scope. It is unique in its character as it covers both migration and refugee studies, with a truly global coverage, across continents and topics. The journal publishes full-length theoretical and empirical research discussing migration governance, migrant/refugee integration, and related policies and practices. The journal privileges international and comparative perspectives but also accepts case studies focusing on specific groups, regions, or countries. Both quantitative and qualitative methodological approaches are welcome.
The Journal on Migration and Human Security (JMHS) is a peer-reviewed publication that seeks to feature cutting-edge, evidence-based public policy papers. Its “human security” rubric is meant to evoke the widely shared goals of creating secure and sustaining conditions in migrant sending communities; promoting safe, orderly and legal migration; and developing rights-respecting immigration and immigrant integration policies that benefit sending and receiving communities and allow newcomers to lead productive, secure lives.
Academic Video Online (Proquest)This link opens in a new windowOver 67,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including business, counseling & therapy, education, health, and nursing.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowIncludes 100 streaming-media titles, primarily in education, psychology, and
literature, with some titles in history and science.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowIncludes almost 1,500 streaming media titles, including business, education, English literature, nursing, psychology, and social work.