LibGuides: Human Services: Home

Article Databases

Getting Started
Digging Deeper

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.

Get started quickly with the search bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you log in to TouroOne before accessing the databases.

Recommended Databases:

Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers clinical & social psychology, genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines, many going back to the mid-1800s. Includes the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, & VII; Business II; Health & General Science, Jewish Studies, Hebrew Journals.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Access articles published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. Covers general psychology as well as specialized and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window Includes nearly 300 journals covering nearly all topics related to psychology. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog below or on the library homepage

Touro Library Catalog

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year or campus location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Introduction to Human Services by Barbara Schram; Betty Reid Mandell
ISBN: 0205838855
Publication Date: 2012
Developing Human Service Leaders by Deborah Harley-McClaskey
ISBN: 1483393100
Publication Date: 2016-01-22
Fundamentals of Case Management Practice by Nancy Summers
ISBN: 9781305094765
Publication Date: 2016
Theory, Practice, and Trends in Human Services by Edward S. Neukrug
ISBN: 1305271491
Publication Date: 2016-01-01

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog below or the library homepage.

Touro Library Catalog

Use the advanced search to limit your results to ebooks by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Addressing Racial Disproportionality and Disparities in Human Services by Rowena Fong (Editor); Alan Dettlaff (Editor); Joyce James (Editor); Carolyne Rodriguez (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231160810
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Careers in Human Services by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781619257788
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity by Linwood Cousins (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483346656
Publication Date: 2014-09-22

Important Websites

Limit Google Search by Site

Many federal & local governments, as well as
onprofit groups, provide data and resources
related to human services.

To limit your Google search to only government
websites, add [site:gov] to your search.
For organization websites, add [site:org].

You can also use the site: prefix to limit your search
to any other top-level domain (.com, etc.) or individual website (e.g. oasas.ny.gov).

To find scholarly articles online, try using Google Scholar, which searches an academically-oriented subset of online materials:

NYC Department of Social Services: Facts
This fact page of the NYC Department of Social Services website provides important statistics and reports regarding the usage of department's programs.
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
US Department of Health and Human Services-Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation

American Counseling Association
The American Counseling Association is the world's largest organization representing professional counselors in various practice settings.
American Public Human Services Association
Professional organization for those working in health & human services.
National Organization for Human Services
Professional organization for those working in human services
The Network of Jewish Human Services
The Network is an international membership association of more than 140 non profit human service agencies in the United States, Canada and Israel whose members provide a full range of human services for the Jewish community and beyond, including healthcare, career, employment and mental health services, as well as programs for youth, families and seniors, Holocaust survivors, immigrants and refugees, persons with disabilities and caregivers.

Human Services

Chat

Library Info

How-To Guides

Video

Article Databases

Books & E-Books

Important Websites

Limit Google Search by Site