LibGuides: Addictive Behaviors: Alcoholism

Ask a Librarian!

Email Me

Alcoholism - an addiction to the consumption of alcoholic liquor or the mental illness and compulsive behavior resulting from alcohol dependency.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works (Vol. 1)

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a landmark database that contains more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
Family Health Database (Proquest)
Provides international coverage dating back to 1988 of an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
Access articles published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. Covers general psychology as well as specialized and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychotherapy.net
Provides access to streaming videos which show actual psychotherapy sessions, and experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.

Advances in Drug and Alcohol Research
The journal of Advances in Drug and Alcohol Research will use Frontiers’ transformative Open Access platform and aims to be the global Open Access leader in all fields of the science of drug and alcohol abuse and addiction.
Alcohol
Alcohol is an international, peer-reviewed journal that is devoted to publishing multi-disciplinary biomedical research on all aspects of the actions or effects of alcohol on the nervous system or on other organ systems.
Alcohol and Alcoholism
Publishes research from all clinical disciplines of medicine, the basic medical sciences, psychology, sociology, and epidemiology.
Alcohol Research
Alcohol Research: Current Reviews (ARCR) is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal published by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) at the National Institutes of Health.
Drug and Alcohol Dependence
For workers in the fields of biomedical, as well as clinical, epidemiological, psychosocial, socio-cultural, educational and medico-legal research.

Cleveland Clinic - Alcohol Use Disorder
We are a nonprofit multispecialty academic medical center that integrates clinical and hospital care with research and education.
Drinkaware
Drinkaware is an independent charity which aims to reduce alcohol-related harm by helping people make better choices about their drinking.
HelpGuide - Alcoholism
HelpGuide is a nonprofit mental health and wellness website. Our mission is to provide empowering, evidence-based information that you can use to help yourself and your loved ones.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
To generate and disseminate fundamental knowledge about the adverse effects of alcohol on health and well-being, and apply that knowledge to improve diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of alcohol-related problems, including alcohol use disorder, across the lifespan.
Psychology Today - Alcoholism
Psychology Today is the world’s largest mental health and behavioral science destination online. It is the original and largest publishing enterprise that is exclusively dedicated to human behavior.