LibGuides: Sexual Assault: Home

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Slideshow

Websites

1in6.org
The mission of 1in6 is to help men who have had unwanted or abusive sexual experiences live healthier, happier lives. Our mission also includes serving family members, friends, partners, and service providers by providing information and support resources on the web and in the community.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Sexual Violence
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.
MaleSurvivor
MaleSurvivor provides critical resources to male survivors of sexual trauma and all their partners in recovery by building communities of Hope, Healing, & Support.
MedlinePlus - Child Sexual Abuse
MedlinePlus links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies.
National Sexual Violence Resource Center - (NSVRC)
The National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) is the leading nonprofit in providing information and tools to prevent and respond to sexual violence.
New York State Coalition Against Sexual Assault
NYSCASA is a private, non-profit coalition of community-based rape crisis programs located throughout New York State.
Office on Women's Health (OWH) - Sexual Assault
Provide national leadership and coordination to improve the health of women and girls through policy, education, and innovative programs.
Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)
RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network) is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization. RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline (1-800-656-HOPE).
Sexual Assault Awareness (SAA)
SAA is dedicated to treating and raising awareness of sexualized violence, through training, research, consultation and individual psycho-therapeutic treatment.

eVideos

Article Databases

EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Emerald Social Sciences eBook Backfile 1998-2010 This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks dating from 1998 until 2010 contributes much to debate in the fields of education, environmental management/environment, health care management/healthcare, language and linguistics and sociology and public policy.
SciVerse ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
Search articles in over 350 journals. Includes reference works and handbooks. Covers education, health, psychology, etc. Content back to 1995.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, & international relations.

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.