LibGuides: Domestic Violence: Home

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Slideshow

Websites

American Psychological Association (APA) - Understanding and Preventing Child Abuse and Neglect
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.
Break the Silence Against Domestic Violence
To provide community resources and support services to victims, survivors, and families affected by domestic violence.
HelpGuide - Domestic Violence and Abuse
HelpGuide is a nonprofit mental health and wellness website. Our mission is to provide empowering, evidence-based information that you can use to help yourself and your loved ones.
MedlinePlus - Domestic Violence
Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
The Hotline is part of the largest nationwide network of programs and expert resources and regularly shares insight about domestic violence with government officials, law enforcement agencies, media and the general public.
Prevent Child Abuse America
We are a 501(c)(3) dedicated to promoting services that improve child well-being in all 50 states and developing programs that help to prevent all types of abuse and neglect.
REACH Beyond Domestic Violence
REACH is a non-profit organization providing safety and support to survivors of abuse while engaging communities to promote healthy relationships and prevent domestic violence.

eVideos

Article Databases

EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Emerald Social Sciences eBook Backfile 1998-2010 This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks dating from 1998 until 2010 contributes much to debate in the fields of education, environmental management/environment, health care management/healthcare, language and linguistics and sociology and public policy.
SciVerse ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
Search articles in over 350 journals. Includes reference works and handbooks. Covers education, health, psychology, etc. Content back to 1995.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, & international relations.

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.