An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.
Image Hand, Robot, Machine, Pixabay.
Encyclopedia Britannica defines Artificial Intelligence as: the ability of a digital computer or computer-controlled robot to perform tasks commonly associated with intelligent beings. The term is frequently applied to the project of developing systems endowed with the intellectual processes characteristic of humans, such as the ability to reason, discover meaning, generalize, or learn from past experience. Since the development of the digital computer in the 1940s, it has been demonstrated that computers can be programmed to carry out very complex tasks—as, for example, discovering proofs for mathematical theorems or playing chess—with great proficiency. Still, despite continuing advances in computer processing speed and memory capacity, there are as yet no programs that can match human flexibility over wider domains or in tasks requiring much everyday knowledge. On the other hand, some programs have attained the performance levels of human experts and professionals in performing certain specific tasks, so that artificial intelligence in this limited sense is found in applications as diverse as medical diagnosis, computer search engines, voice or handwriting recognition, and chatbots.
Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.
While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.
Get started quickly with the seach bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you've registered for off-campus access.
Covers physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, etc. Includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, & other graphical elements.
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Additional database resources to expand your research in the area of Artificial Intelligence.
Covers artificial intelligence, computer games, graphics, networks, programming, security, systems, database management, ecommerce, electronic data processing, hardware, information science & information theory, intranets & extranets, software, technology management, web site development, & product reviews.
All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).
Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.
The items below are a sampling of the many ebook titles available:
The Application of Artificial Intelligence by 
Artificial Intelligence : An Approach to Assess the Impact on the Information Economy by 
Artificial Intelligence, Business and Civilization : Our Fate Made in Machines by 
Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning by 
Artificial Intelligence and Expert Systems by 
Artificial Intelligence Basics : A Self-Teaching Introduction by 
Artificial Intelligence Design and Solution for Risk and Security by 
Artificial Intelligence for Big Data : Complete Guide to Automating Big Data Solutions Using Artificial Intelligence Techniques by 
Artificial Intelligence in Medical Imaging: From Theory To Clinical Practice by 
New World Technologies : 2020 and Beyond by 
Predictive Medicine: Artificial Intelligence and Its Impact on Healthcare Business Strategy by 
Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality : Myths and Realities by To find additional quality information online, try using Google Scholar, which searches an academically-oriented subset of online materials:
Stay connected!
Like us on FacebookLike us on Facebook Follow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter View our InstagramView our Instagram Read our BlogRead our Blog Watch our VideosWatch our Videos
