LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies OER and OA Resources: Home

Women's and Gender Studies OER Books

This open educational resources can be used and remixed for free, without penalty. Please contact the Libraries if you need help determining what you are able to do legally with a resource.

Feeling Gender: A Generational and Psychosocial Approach (2017)

Author: Harriet Bjerrum Nielsen
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
Subject: Gender Studies
License:

See abstract and full boook here.

LGBTQ+ Studies: An Open Textbook (2020)
A new OER for introductory LGBTQ+ studies courses from SUNY

Language, Cognition and Gender (2016)

Authors: Alan Garnham --- Jane Oakhill --- Lisa von Stockhausen --- Sabine Sczesny
Publisher: Frontiers Media SA
Subject: Science (General) --- Psychology
License:

See abstract and full text here.

Introduction to Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies (2017)
This textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research.
Global Women's Issues: Women in the World Today (Extended Version) (2012)
We cannot solve global challenges unless women participate fully in efforts to find solutions. Female participation in the private sector is a crucial economic driver for societies worldwide. Economic security benefits every facet of a woman’s life, with positive effects on the health, education and vitality of families. Learn about women who are changing their societies for the better. This extended version of Global Women’s Issues: Women in the World Today includes, for each chapter, a summary, key words, multiple choice questions, discussion questions, essay questions, and a list of additional resources.
Out from the Shadows of Minneapolis: Power, Pride, and Perseverance at a Northern Community College
Minneapolis College, the most selected higher education destination of students from all Minneapolis Public High Schools, is located downtown, nestled between the hustle of Hennepin Avenue and the green spaces of Loring Park. As a part of the Minnesota State system of colleges and universities, Minneapolis College most serves those students who are least likely to go to college. With three-quarters of the student body composed of those underrepresented in higher education, the hallways are filled with recent immigrants, those seeking to learn English, members of communities with the highest unemployment and incarceration rates in the state, veterans, those of low socioeconomic status, seekers of diversity, and those who wish to serve them. Collected here are their stories, stories of overcoming, coming up, perseverance, pride, and power in the face of depressed opportunity and systemic oppression.

Other Women's and Gender Studies OER

Equality Archive
Equality Archive is a reliable source for the history of sex and gender equality in the United States. It is a theater for history and social justice with the goal to provide a forum for curious people. Information is power. Equality Archive provides open access to the information that can ripple to become a new wave of knowledge and action in the service of social good.
Gender and Sexualities: An Inquiry
Gender and Sexualities: An Inquiry was created to accompany UNST 231 Sophomore Inquiry: Gender and Sexualities at Portland State University.
Everyday Social Justice
This website is for people who want to learn about social justice, or for folks who teach it. It has all of the teaching materials for my courses on social justice, so you could walk yourself through it or talk about it with a “book” group!
Women's and Gender Studies (MIT)
These open courses from MIT cover various Women's and Gender Studies topics for undergraduate and graduate students and the public

Women's and Gender Studies Open Access Resources

These resources are available for free, but may not be remixed or altered. Please contact the Libraries if you need help determining what you are able to legally do with a resource.

Gender in Science and Technology

Authors: Horwath (Ed.), Ilona --- Ernst (Ed.), Waltraud
Book Series: Gender Studies ISBN: 9783837624342 9783839424346 Year: 2013 Language: English
Publisher: transcript Verlag Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100525
Subject: Gender Studies
Added to DOAB on : 2017-04-21 11:01:49
License:

See abstract and full book here.

Tax, Social Policy and Gender

Author: Stewart, Miranda
Publisher: ANU Press
Subject: Economics --- Gender Studies --- Social Sciences
License: ANU Press

See abstract and full book here.

Women in Nineteenth-Century Russia

Authors: Tosi, Alessandra --- Rosslyn, Wendy
ISBN: 9781906924676 Year: 2012 Pages: 258 Language: English
Publisher: Open Book Publishers
Subject: Gender Studies --- History --- Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2018-04-04 11:02:05
License:

Transgender Identities: Towards a Social Analysis of Gender Diversity (CC BY-NC-ND)
In recent years transgender has emerged as a subject of increasing social and cultural interest. This volume offers vivid accounts of the diversity of living transgender in today's world. The first section, "Emerging Identities," maps the ways in which social, cultural, legal and medical developments shape new identities on both an individual and collective level. Rather than simply reflecting social change, these shifts work to actively construct contemporary identities. The second section, "Trans Governance," examines how law and social policy have responded to contemporary gender shifts. The third section, "Transforming Identity," explores gender and sexual identity practices within cultural and subcultural spaces. The final section, "Transforming Theory?", offers a theoretical reflection on the increasing visibility of trans people in today’s society and traces the challenges and the contributions transgender theory has brought to gender theory, queer theory and sociological approaches to identity and citizenship. Featuring contributions from throughout the world, this volume represents the cutting-edge scholarship in transgender studies and will be of interest to scholars and students interested in gender, sexuality, and sociology.

For more resources, review this pre-formulated search for Gender Studies in the Directory of Open Access Books:

Directory of Open Access Books: "Gender Studies"

Acknowledgement

Many of these resources were drawn from a list compiled by the Borough of Manhattan Community College

Women's and Gender Studies OER and OA Resources

Ask a Librarian!

Chat

Library Info

How-To Guides

License

Women's and Gender Studies OER Books

Other Women's and Gender Studies OER

Women's and Gender Studies Open Access Resources

Acknowledgement