LibGuides: Sleep Disorders and Sleep Medicine: Home

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Infographics

`Credit: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health`

Websites

American Academy of Sleep Medicine
Established in 1975 as the Association of Sleep Disorders Centers, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) is the only professional society dedicated exclusively to the medical subspecialty of sleep medicine.
American Psychiatric Association (APA) - Help With Sleep Disorders
The American Psychiatric Association is an organization of psychiatrists working together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness.
American Sleep Association
The ASA has spent the last decade working to educate the public on the importance of diagnosing and treating sleep disorders. Private, corporate, and promotional support have enabled the ASA to provide our educational resources to the public for free.
Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Sleep and Sleep Disorders
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services.
HelpGuide - Sleep Disorders and Problems
HelpGuide is a nonprofit mental health and wellness website. Our mission is to provide empowering, evidence-based information that you can use to help yourself and your loved ones.
National Sleep Foundation
National Sleep Foundation has been the leading expert voice in the world of sleep science and health for nearly thirty years. Since 1996, SleepFoundation.org has served as the public face of the nonprofit, a platform for its acclaimed Sleep in America poll, as well as the sleep education and advocacy programs that remain the cornerstone of the Foundation’s work.

eVideos

Article Databases

EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Family Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage dating back to 1988 of an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
Psychiatry Online (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of American Psychiatric Publishing books and journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry. Content dates back to 1844.
Psychology (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 300 journals covering nearly all topics related to psychology. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers clinical & social psychology, genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window
Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.