LibGuides: Elder Abuse: Home

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Slideshow

Websites

American Psychological Association (APA) - Elder Abuse and Neglect
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.
ElderAbuse.org
We respect the rights and dignity of older adults and are committed to end the shameful societal failures that lead to their abuse, neglect and exploitation.
HelpGuide - Elder Abuse and Neglect
HelpGuide is a nonprofit mental health and wellness website. Our mission is to provide empowering, evidence-based information that you can use to help yourself and your loved ones.
National Adult Protective Services Association (NAPSA)
The National Adult Protective Services Association (NAPSA) is a national non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization with members in all fifty states.
National Council on Aging (NCOA) -
Our Mission: Improve the lives of millions of older adults, especially those who are struggling.
National Institute on Aging (NIA) - Elder Abuse
NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life.
NYC Elder Abuse Center (NYCEAC)
The NYC Elder Abuse Center (NYCEAC) was launched in 2009 to improve the way professionals, organizations and systems respond to elder abuse, neglect and financial exploitation.
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) -
GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, reliable information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.
World Health Organization (WHO) - Elder Abuse
WHO staff are united in a shared commitment to achieve better health for everyone, everywhere.

eVideos

Article Databases

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works (Vol. 1) This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a landmark database that contains more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Emerald Social Sciences eBook Backfile 1998-2010 This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks dating from 1998 until 2010 contributes much to debate in the fields of education, environmental management/environment, health care management/healthcare, language and linguistics and sociology and public policy.
ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
Search articles in over 350 journals. Includes reference works and handbooks. Covers education, health, psychology, etc. Content back to 1995.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, & international relations.

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.