Technology in Medicine Resources
This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.
As technology progresses year by year, so does innovation and advancement in the medical field. From the development of vaccines, to robotic-assisted surgery, virtual and mixed reality for medical education to artificially grown body parts, technology in medicine is continually expanding and changing lives.
Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to technology in medicine.
If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about technology in medicine by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.
Access Medicine Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
Anatomy.tv – Primal Pictures View 3D rotatable images for 9 anatomical areas including Interactive Head & Neck, Interactive Pelvis & Perineum, and Interactive Spines; quizzes; MRI views.
EBSCO multi-search Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
JURN Covers open access academic articles and books on the arts and humanities, as well as science, computer science, medicine, psychology, pharmacology, and economics.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
PubMed @ Touro Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Sage Premier Collection Includes academic and research journals from SAGE and other publishers covering a broad range of subject areas.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO) Covers sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health, etc.
TRIP Database A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Allows searching across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Books & eBooks
All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or where it says Catalog Find Books & eBooks on the library homepage).
Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.
The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:
Advancing Medical Practice Through Technology by
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
Ethics, Medicine, and Information Technology by
Publication Date: 2016-01-14
Handbook of Electronic Assistive Technology by
Publication Date: 2018-11-21
Healthcare Technology Innovation Adoption by
Publication Date: 2016-03-09
Wearable Technology in Medicine and Health Care by
Publication Date: 2018-07-27