LibGuides: Social Work: Home

Article Databases

Getting Started
Digging Deeper

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.

Get started quickly with the search bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. You should be able to access digital resources by logging in to the library homepage with your TouroOne credentials.

ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
This is the largest general interest database. It contains full-text of scholarly journal, trade publications, newspapers and magazines, as well as select dissertations.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides summaries (abstracts) of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. While there is no full text, clicking on "Article Linker" will bring you to electronic content in other databases, when it is available.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Contains over 5,000 Cochrane systematic reviews and over 650,000 other data records, covering clinical trials, methods, technology and economic evaluations.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides scholarly journal articles in areas including, but not limited to, law, economics, history, medicine and social science, as welll as other academic subjects.

Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration provides systematic reviews of various social impact issues.

Psychiatry Online (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
This database contains books and journals produced by American Psychiatric Publishing, including the DSM-5 and the American Journal of Psychiatry.
SAGE Humanities & Social Science This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text of 18 unique social work titles as well as journals in the areas of public health, criminal justice, cultural and ethnic studies, psychology and counseling, gerontology, interpersonal violence, public administration, and psychoanalysis.

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Social Work with Immigrants and Refugees by Fernando Chang-Muy; Elaine Congress (Editor)
Call Number: JV6465 .S63 2024
ISBN: 9780826186317
Publication Date: 2023-08-01
Empowerment Series: Introduction to Social Work and Social Welfare by Charles Zastrow; Sarah L. Hessenauer
Call Number: HV91 .Z37 2023
ISBN: 9780357623398
Publication Date: 2022-01-13
A Human Rights-Based Approach to Justice in Social Work Practice by Shirley Gatenio Gabel
Call Number: HV10.5 .G33 2024
ISBN: 9780197570647
Publication Date: 2023-11-07
Reflective Practice in Social Work by Andy Mantell (Editor); Terry Scragg (Editor)
Call Number: HV40 .R36 2023
ISBN: 9781529798593
Publication Date: 2023-05-23

Recommended Websites

To find additional quality information online, try using Google Scholar, which searches an academically-oriented subset of online materials:

ACF Children's Bureau
Statistics on a variety of child welfare topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect provider by the Administration of Children & Families.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Responsible for the collection, analysis, and publication, of criminal justice statistics in the United States. A primary source for the information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
JobLink
Search jobs and post resumes at the Social Work Career Center, a service provided by the National Association of Social Workers.
Kids Count
A source for data on child and family well-being in the United States.
National Association of Social Workers
This national membership organization provides professional development, publications, credentialing, and advocacy.
NYS Office of the Professions
This division of the New York State Education Department provides information on social work license requirements, continuing education and statistics on the profession.
US Census Bureau
Provides government gathered data on family composition, housing, health, income and poverty.