LibGuides: Sports Medicine: Sports Medicine Resources

Sports Medicine Resources

Ask a Librarian!

Ryan Fasset

Library Info

Library FAQ
Locations & Hours

How-To Guides

For Students: Getting Started with Research
Writing Resources
Citing Sources
Video Tutorials
Online Learning and Teaching

Sports Medicine Resources

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Introduction

According to the Encyclopædia Britannica, Sports medicine is the, "medical and paramedical supervision, of athletes in training and in competition, with the goal of prevention and treatment of their injuries. Sports medicine entails the application of scientific research and practice to the optimization of health and athletic performance."

Sports medicine. (n.d.). Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved June 24, 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/science/sports-medicine

Databases

Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to sports medicine.

If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about sports medicine by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window Designed for physical therapy students and educators, especially those preparing for the National Physical Therapy Examination. Includes eBooks, quick reference materials, drug information, a video library, images, examination reviews, an interactive online dissection tool, neuroscience lectures, and case studies.
Anatomy.tv – Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window View 3D rotatable images for 9 anatomical areas including Interactive Head & Neck, Interactive Pelvis & Perineum, and Interactive Spines; quizzes; MRI views.
BASE This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
JURN This link opens in a new window Covers open access academic articles and books on the arts and humanities, as well as science, computer science, medicine, psychology, pharmacology, and economics.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Library Initiative is a proposal for permanent state funding for NOVELNY, a pilot project for the Statewide Internet Library.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window Includes over 1000 journals. and over 20 reference works, and handbooks. Covers biological chemistry, forensic sciences, human nutrition, immunology, psychotherapy, neurological sciences, etc. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Covers sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health, etc.

eJournals

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or where it says Catalog Find Print Books on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, etc. Search just eBooks by selecting eBooks on the library homepage. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult by Suraj Achar
ISBN: 9781496396938
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Available as an eBook!
ACSM's Sports Medicine by Francis G. O'Connor
ISBN: 9781451104257
Publication Date: 2012-09-20
Available as an eBook!
Foot and Ankle Sports Medicine by David W. Altchek
ISBN: 9780781797528
Publication Date: 2012-12-25
Available as an eBook!
Master Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery by Freddie H. Fu
ISBN: 9781496375179
Publication Date: 2019-08-03
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
Netter's Sports Medicine by Christopher C. Madden; Margot Putukian; Craig C. Young; Eric C. McCarty; Frank H. Netter (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780323395915
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
Operative Techniques in Sports Medicine Surgery by Sam W. Wiesel; Mark D. Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781451193015
Publication Date: 2016-02-06
Available as an eBook!
Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Case Studies for Advanced Practice Nurses by Karen Myrick (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826122537
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Available as an eBook!
Sex Differences in Sports Medicine by Ellen Casey; Monica Rho; Joel M. Press
ISBN: 9781620700754
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Available as an eBook!
Sports Medicine Conditions by Mark D. Miller; A. Bobby Chhabra; Jeff Konin; Dilaawar J. Mistry
ISBN: 9781451121032
Publication Date: 2013-10-12
Available as an eBook!
Sports Medicine in the Pediatric Office by Jordan D. Metzl
ISBN: 9781610021227
Publication Date: 2017-10-15
Available as an eBook!

Sports Medicine