This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.
Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to pediatrics.
If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about pediatrics by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.
Access Medicine Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
AccessPhysiotherapy Designed for physical therapy students and educators, especially those preparing for the National Physical Therapy Examination. Includes eBooks, quick reference materials, drug information, a video library, images, examination reviews, an interactive online dissection tool, neuroscience lectures, and case studies.
BASE Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) A comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for almost 5,500 journals, with no embargo dates.
EBSCO multi-search Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
F.A. Davis PT Collection on AccessPhysiotherapy Includes more than 40 physical-therapy eBook titles.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
Oxford Journals Includes academic and research journals from Oxford University Press covering a broad range of subject areas.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations concerning behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed @ Touro Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Sage Premier Collection Includes academic and research journals from SAGE and other publishers covering a broad range of subject areas.
Books & eBooks
All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or where it says Catalog Find Books & eBooks on the library homepage).
Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.
The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:
The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult by
Publication Date: 2018-10-10
1001 Pediatric Treatment Activities by
Publication Date: 2015-08-15
Available at Bay Shore & Midtown!
Blueprints Pediatrics by
Publication Date: 2019-02-23
Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging by
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Handbook of Pediatric Physical Therapy by
Publication Date: 2018-07-06
Available at Bay Shore (On Reserve) & Midtown!
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set by
Publication Date: 2019-04-19
Available at Bay Shore (On Reserve)!
Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents by
Publication Date: 2014-10-30
Available at Bay Shore (On Reserve) & Midtown (On Reserve)!
Other websites to consult for information on pediatrics: