This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.
According to the Encyclopædia Britannica, Pathology is the, "medical specialty concerned with the determining causes of disease and the structural and functional changes occurring in abnormal conditions."
Pathology. (n.d.). Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved August 20, 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/science/pathology
Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to pathology.
If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about pathology by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
BASE This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale) This link opens in a new window One of Gale’s premiere resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of virtually any concentration — from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and women’s studies. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
JAMA Network Journals & Archives Journals This link opens in a new window Includes access to JAMA and the 9 JAMA specialty journals (formerly the Archives journals) from 1998 forward. Also includes the JAMA Network Archives Journals backfile, with some titles dating back to the 1910s.
JURN This link opens in a new window Covers open access academic articles and books on the arts and humanities, as well as science, computer science, medicine, psychology, pharmacology, and economics.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window Provides access to journals, ebooks, dissertations, video, and news from ProQuest Central, Adademic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
SciVerse ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window Includes over 1000 journals. and over 20 reference works, and handbooks. Covers biological chemistry, forensic sciences, human nutrition, immunology, psychotherapy, neurological sciences, etc. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Allows searching across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Books & eBooks
All of Touro's books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or where it says Catalog Find Print Books on the library homepage).
Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, etc. Search just eBooks by selecting eBooks on the library homepage. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.
The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:
Crowley's an Introduction to Human Disease by
Publication Date: 2020-12-22
Available at Kings Highway and the Health Sciences Library!
Diagnostic Pathology of Infectious Disease by
Publication Date: 2017-06-20
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
Diseases Disorders by
Publication Date: 2019-07-17
Available at the Health Sciences Library (Reference Book)!
Essentials of Human Diseases and Conditions by
Publication Date: 2020-10-26
Orthopaedic Pathology by
Publication Date: 2015-11-05
Publication Date: 2018-11-03
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
Pathology Q and A by
Publication Date: 2017-10-20
Robbins Basic Pathology by
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
Textbook of Pathology by
Publication Date: 2014-10-31
Wheater's Pathology: a Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology by
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Available at Kings Highway!