LibGuides: Dermatology: Dermatology Resources

Dermatology Resources

Ask a Librarian!

Ryan Fasset

Library Info

Library FAQ
Locations & Hours

How-To Guides

For Students: Getting Started with Research
Writing Resources
Citing Sources
Video Tutorials
Online Learning and Teaching

Dermatology Resources

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Introduction

According to the Encyclopædia Britannica, Dermatology is the, "medical specialty dealing with the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the skin." Some common skin conditions include, but are not limited to:

Acne
Atopic Dermatitis
Melanoma (Skin Cancer)
Psoriasis
Rashes
Rosacea

Dermatology. (n.d.). Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved July 1, 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/science/dermatology

Skin Conditions By The Numbers. (n.d.). American Academy of Dermatology. Retrieved July 1, 2020, from https://www.aad.org/media/stats-numbers

Databases

Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to dermatology.

If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about dermatology by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
Anatomy.tv – Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window View 3D rotatable images for 9 anatomical areas including Interactive Head & Neck, Interactive Pelvis & Perineum, and Interactive Spines; quizzes; MRI views.
BASE This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
JAMA Network Journals & Archives Journals This link opens in a new window Includes access to JAMA and the 9 JAMA specialty journals (formerly the Archives journals) from 1998 forward. Also includes the JAMA Network Archives Journals backfile, with some titles dating back to the 1910s.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
Public Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Includes thousands of full-text dissertations provide in-depth scholarly insights into important topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, international public health, maternal and child health, and occupational safety and health.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

eJournals

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or where it says Catalog Find Print Books on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, etc. Search just eBooks by selecting eBooks on the library homepage. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available: