Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ask a librarian logo

MSIN 695 - Capstone Course: Information Systems Research Project Seminar: Finding Sources

Find library resources you can use for your Information Systems capstone course

Finding Sources

Search is almost never a linear activity. To effectively find high-quality sources, you may need to filter, sort, narrow, or expand your search. You may find that you need to alter your keywords, add subject terms from a controlled vocabulary, or perhaps even revise your topic. This is all part of having a search strategy, and your search strategy log assignment should help you document the 'paths' you've taken to find your sources. 

Some tips:

  • Always record what you do, so you can reproduce search results in the future
  • Save your citations, either via a citation manager, or a file in Word, Google Docs, Notepad, etc.
  • Ask for help when you are stuck!

You need at least 15 sources (15-20 for the annotated bibliography) less than 5 years old, and 5 sources must be from scholarly journals. NOTE: These requirements are for reference; refer to your course materials for precise requirements. See this video for tips on reading a scholarly journal article.

 

Use LibKey Nomad Browser Extension

LibKey Nomad is a helpful browser extension that allows you to quickly find full-text documents from a variety of sources, including references in Wikipedia and Pubmed. See our post for information on downloading.

On Google Chrome, you can configure the extension to work only when you click the icon (see below), or leave the default settings.

Libkey Nomad extension

Recommended Library Databases

Start your search with QuickSearch on the Libraries homepage. This will search across all the Libraries' resources, however you should also try the databases below.

eBooks

Journals

In addition to searching for individual articles and ebooks in our databases, you can also directly browse journals related to your field. You may not have full access to all material, but you can always use our Interlibrary Loan service to request individual articles.

Other Databases / Search Engines

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) maintains this digital library of their publications and others from selected publishers. It includes articles, proceedings, conference materials, and special interest groups. Some articles are free to access, however others may require a subscription (you can always request ILL or check via LibKey Nomad for another version of the article). Student memberships for the ACM are reasonable (currently $42 combined with access to this digital library) and may be useful in your professional development. 

Semantic Scholar is an academic search engine from the Allen Institute for AI. Like Google Scholar, it crawls academic web content from publishers and other sources to help you discover scientific literature and data. Some materials will be free to read, others may be available via the Libraries.

Another academic search engine, Microsoft Academic claims to be an improvement over keyword-based search engines for discovering scientific literature and data. Some materials will be free to read, others may be available via the Libraries.

The dblp computer science bibliography provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. This may be useful for finding a relevant journal, or list of works from a particular author. 

Finding Library Resources in Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. It is a great place to start; begin with a broader search and narrow down your terms until you get closer to your topic. When on campus, links to articles found in the Touro databases will automatically appear, but you can enable this functionality at home by accessing the Google Scholar settings and searching for Touro under “Library Links.”

google scholar library links page

Stay connected!

Like us on FacebookLike us on Facebook Follow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter View our InstagramView our Instagram Read our BlogRead our Blog Watch our VideosWatch our Videos