LibGuides: History: Home

Article Databases

Getting Started
Digging Deeper

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.

Get started quickly with the seach bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you've registered for off-campus access.

EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines, many going back to the mid-1800s. Includes the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, & VII; Business II; Health & General Science, Jewish Studies, Hebrew Journals.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window Provides access to journals, ebooks, dissertations, video, and news from ProQuest Central, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window Includes content from industry journals, travel guides (some Fodor's guides are included) and magazines. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window Full text of all Cambridge history volumes (300+) published to date. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history. Content is displayed as page images and can be searched via metadata and full text.
Making of America Journals (Michigan) This link opens in a new window Primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Contains approximately 50,000 journal articles.
Making of America Books [eBooks] This link opens in a new window Primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Contains approximately 10,000 books.

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff
Call Number: DT92.7 .S35 2010
ISBN: 9780316001922
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Democracy: A History by John Dunn
Call Number: JC421 .D85 2005
ISBN: 9780871139313
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of World History by compiled by Market House Books Ltd
Call Number: D21 .E577 1998
ISBN: 0198602235
Publication Date: 1998
A Global History of Modern Historiography by Georg G. Iggers; Q. Edward Wang; Supriya Mukherjee
Call Number: D13 .I34 2008
ISBN: 9780582096066
Publication Date: 2008
Available in print or ebook.
Normal Women by Philippa Gregory
Call Number: DA308 .G744 2024
ISBN: 9780063304321
Publication Date: 2024-02-27
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Paul S. Boyer (Editor)
Call Number: E174 .O94 2001
ISBN: 0195082095
Publication Date: 2001
Reconstructions: New Perspectives on the Postbellum United States by Thomas J. Brown (Editor)
Call Number: E668 .R425 2006
ISBN: 9780195175950
Publication Date: 2006
World History: to 1500 by William J. Duiker; Jackson J. Spielvogel
Call Number: D20 .D92 2010b
ISBN: 9780495569015
Publication Date: 2010

Recommended Websites

Alfred
Archival economic data from 1927-present
The Avalon Project
Digital documents from ancient history to the 21st century relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from Yale University.
EuroDocs
Selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations of primary source European history documents, organized by country
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Mapping History
A project of the University of Oregon that provides information and visualization of a large range of data on American, European, Latin American, and Aftrican history.
National Archives
An archive of the most important documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government
Perseus Digital Library
A collection of archival material covering ancient Greece & Rome, 19th Century America and other topics

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

History in Video

Find more titles like this in Films on Demand. Or, take a look through all of our streaming video databases under the Videos tab on the library homepage.

History

Chat

Library Info

How-To Guides

Article Databases

Books & eBooks

Recommended Websites

History in Video