The Arts

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC  E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it. 

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Visit these New York City museums for first-hand contact with primary source material or access their collections online.

• Brooklyn Museum

Large collection of Egyptian antiquities, as well as a strong focus on American art from the Colonial period through the modern period. Notable artists include Mark Rothko, Edward Hopper, Norman Rockwell, Winslow Homer, Edgar Degas, Georgia O'Keeffe, and Max Weber. 

• Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum

Museum's collection consists of decorative and design objects, such as textiles, pottery and home goods, and blueprints and sketches. 

• The Frick Collection 

Although the historic building housing the Frick Collection is currently closed for renovation, the Frick Madison is open with a reduced collection. Encompassing works from the Renaissance through the nineteenth century, the Frick also contains the Frick Art Reference Library, which provides public access to materials and programs focused on the study of fine and decorative arts. 

• The Guggenheim Museum

Known for it's Frank Lloyd Wright designed building, the collection consists of modern and contemporary painting and sculpture. Its online collection is shared with sister museums in Bilbao, Spain, and elsewhere. 

• The Jewish Museum

Spans more than 4,000 years with near 30,000 works of art, Judaica, and antiquities from around the world. 

• The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The permanent collection contains works of art from classical antiquity and ancient Egypt, to paintings and sculptures by European masters, to an extensive range of American and modern art. The collection also includes a museum of European Medieval art and architecture in Washington Heights, with a focus on Romanesque and Gothic periods. 

• Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)

The physical collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. Currently approximately 94,000 are available online. 

• The Whitney Museum of American Art

Over 25,000 works of American art spanning the twentieth and twenty-first century.

• New York Public Library

In addition to an online collection of prints, photographs, manuscripts, and ephemera, the Research Catalog allows access to the Shared Collections of Columbia University, Princeton University, and Harvard University Libraries. The physical library also has branches throughout the Bronx, Manhattan, and Staten Island.