LibGuides: HIS 159 Modern Jewish History : Library Resources

Biographical Reference Sources (eBooks)

Reference resources such as Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are a good starting point for your research. They can help you to choose a topic and find background information and quick facts.

The Reference Resources listed below contain biographical information about famous Jewish people. These are all eBooks fully available online:

(Remote Access to Touro restricted resources requires logging in to the library using your Touro One credentials)

Who's Who in Jewish History by Joan Comay; Lavinia Cohn-Sherbok
ISBN: 9780415125833
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Jewish History and Culture by Alpha Development Group Staff; Benjamin Blech
ISBN: 9780028627113
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
The Jews of Capital Hill by Kurt F. Stone
ISBN: 9780810877382
Publication Date: 2011-01-16
A Complete Alphabetically Arranged Biblical Biography by Author: Beharrell, Thomas G., b. 1824.
Publication Date: 1824

Inspiring Biographies from the Catalog

Ben-Gurion : the Armed Prophet by Bar-Zohar, Michael
Call Number: JUD DS125.3.B37 B283 1968
Publication Date: 1968
Suspended in language : Niels Bohr's life, discoveries, and the century he shaped by Ottaviani, Jim
Call Number: QC16.B63 O78 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Gustav Mahler by Walter, Bruno
Call Number: ML410.M23 W25 1958
Publication Date: 1958
Spinoza : a life by Nadler, Steven
Call Number: JUD B3997 .N33 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Freud : a life for our time by Gay, Peter
Call Number: BF109.F74 G39 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Maimonides : a biography by Heschel, Abraham Joshua
Call Number: JUD BM755.M6 H413 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Albert Einstein : a biography by Calaprice, Alice & Lipscombe, Trevor
Call Number: QC16.E5 C34 2005
Publication Date: 2005

Biographical Videos from Films on Demand

A Playlist from our Database Films on Demand: 12 Biographical Videos

The Brontë Sisters: A Concise Biography (33:00)
Edgar Allan Poe: A Concise Biography (36:00)
Emily Dickinson: A Concise Biography (32:00)
Ernest Hemingway: A Concise Biography (34:00)
F. Scott Fitzgerald: A Concise Biography (33:00)
Jane Austen: A Concise Biography (33:00)
Franz Kafka: A Concise Biography (37:00)
John Steinbeck: A Concise Biography (29:00)
Mark Twain: A Concise Biography (34:00)
William Faulkner: A Concise Biography (35:00)
Zora's Roots (60:00)
Nathaniel Hawthorne (29:00)

Biographical Online Journals (eJournals)

Biographical eJournals
History-Specific eJournals
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ supports the rights of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles". Provides access to 262 History Journals.

History Databases

In addition to Multidisciplinary Databases that are useful for conducting research in History such as JSTOR, PROQUEST and EBSCO, the library owns History-specific Databases, e.g.:

Historical Jewish Press

Making of America Books [eBooks] This link opens in a new window Primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Contains approximately 10,000 books.
Making of America Journals (Michigan) This link opens in a new window Primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Contains approximately 50,000 journal articles.

Biographical Databases

Biographical Websites

Webpage Evaluation Checklist by University of California, Berkeley Libraries

Always evaluate the web pages you use when doing scholarly research. Checklists as the one provided below could help.