LibGuides: Autism Spectrum Disorder: Home

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Autism Simulation

Websites

Autism Research Institute
ARI advocates for the rights of people with ASD, and operates without funding from special-interest groups.
Autism Society
The Autism Society of America has been improving the lives of all affected by autism for over 50 years and envisions a world where individuals and families living with autism are able to maximize their quality of life, are treated with the highest level of dignity, and live in a society in which their talents and skills are appreciated and valued.
Autism Speaks
Autism Speaks is dedicated to promoting solutions, across the spectrum and throughout the life span, for the needs of individuals with autism and their families.
Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services.
HelpGuide - Autism Spectrum Disorders
HelpGuide is a nonprofit mental health and wellness website. Our mission is to provide empowering, evidence-based information that you can use to help yourself and your loved ones.
Mayo Clinic - Autism Spectrum Disorder
Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization committed to clinical practice, education and research, providing expert, whole-person care to everyone who needs healing.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) - Autism Spectrum Disorder
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.
WebMD - What Are the Types of Autism Spectrum Disorders?
WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information.

eVideos

Article Databases

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works (Vol. 1) This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a landmark database that contains more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers primary, secondary, higher, special, adult education, home schooling; etc.
Psychiatry Online (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of American Psychiatric Publishing books and journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry. Content dates back to 1844.
Psychology Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 300 journals covering nearly all topics related to psychology. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers clinical & social psychology, genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books can be found by searching the catalog (below, or where it says Catalog Find Print Books on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, etc.

Search just eBooks by selecting eBooks on the library homepage.

If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

Below are some books that are available at Touro Library on the topic:

Autism Spectrum Disorder in the First Years of Life by Katarzyna Chawarska (Editor); Fred R. Volkmar (Editor)
Call Number: WS 350.8.P4 A939 2020
ISBN: 9781462543236
Publication Date: 2020-08-24
Available at the Health Sciences Library and Midwood locations!
Understanding Parent Experiences and Supporting Autistic Children in the K-12 School System by Jillian Yarbrough (Editor)
Call Number: LC4718 .U53 2022
ISBN: 9781799877325
Publication Date: 2021-12-17
Available at the Health Sciences Library and Cross River locations!
Autism Spectrum Disorders by Laura Hall
Call Number: WM 203.5 H177a 2018
ISBN: 9780134531519
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
Treatment of Autism Spectrum Disorder by Patricia A. Prelock; Rebecca Joan McCauley
Call Number: WM 203.5 T735 2021
ISBN: 9781681253985
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
Available at the Health Sciences Library!
Autism Spectrum Disorders by Eric Hollander (Editor); Randi Hagerman (Editor); Deborah Fein (Editor)
Call Number: WS 350.8.P4 H737 2018
ISBN: 9781615370528
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Available at the Health Sciences and Kings Highway locations!
Instruction of Students with Severe Disabilities by Fredda Brown; John McDonnell; Martha Snell
Call Number: LC4031 .I572 2020
ISBN: 9780135116340
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Available at the Health Sciences and Kings Highway locations!
Difference Not Disorder by Catherine Harvey; Kevin McFadden (Illustrator)
Call Number: WS 350.8.P4 D569 2018
ISBN: 9781785924743
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Available at the Health Sciences Library!