LibGuides: Open Touro OER Initiative: Open Access Journals

What is Open Access?

Open Access is a term that refers to literature that has few or no copyright restrictions and is available freely online. It most often refers to scholarly journal articles, but can also refer to other works, such as textbooks. More and more authors and institutions are moving to open access platforms for the publication of their work.

Find OA Journal Articles

BASE This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering most subjects and languages.
JURN This link opens in a new window Covers open access academic articles and books on the arts and humanities, as well as science, computer science, medicine, psychology, pharmacology, and economics.
OAIster This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 50 million records in all disciplines using this Open Access Initiative database from WorldCAT. Look for “View online” in each item record, to link to the desired content.

Scilit Scilit is a comprehensive, free database for scientists using a new method to collate data and indexing scientific material. Our crawlers extract the latest data from CrossRef and PubMed on a daily basis. This means that newly published articles are added to Scilit immediately.

OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window Provides access to open access scholarly journal articles in all subject areas from over 3,300 institutional and subject-based repositories around the world