Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Library of Medicine Image Resources
Open-i is an open access biomedical image search engine that searches images from PubMed Central articles as well as several special image collections. It allows for substantial search customization via filters.
MedPix is an open access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.
NLM Digital Collections
NLM’s Digital Collections allow searching and browsing numerous document collections: Images from the History of Medicine, World War 1, Medicine in the Americas 1610-1920, and many more. You can also search the collections for only images.
The Visible Human Project
The Visible Human Project created publicly available three-dimensional representations of a male and a female human body. These images include cross-sectional cryosections, CT, and MRI images.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
The National Cancer Institute offers a collection of featured medical images in several collections: science & technology, childhood cancer, Spanish-language images and diagrams, anatomy, historical images, and B-roll videos. The full collection is also searchable.
Centers for Disease Control: Public Health Image Library
The Public Health Image Library offers a number of topical image collections on topics like influenza, bioterrorism, lab science, and more. Also of interest are image subsets selected for their interest to particular audiences: health care providers, teachers & trainers, librarians & researchers, students, consumers, and more.
Brooklyn Museum Open Collection
Images from the Brooklyn Museum, most with Creative Commons licenses or no known copyright restrictions.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (Open Access Images)
This search connects to the open access image collection from the Metropolitan Museum of Art (Note: not all of the Met's collection is open access, please check permissions or ask a librarian for help before using).
All stock photos on Pexels can be used for free, either under a Pexels-unique license or a Creative Commons license.
Unsplash images are free for users for commercial and noncommercial purposes.
Images found on Pixabay can be copied, modified, distributed, and used by everyone, even for commercial purposes.
American Education: Images of Teachers and Students in Action
“American Education: Images of Teachers and Students in Action” contains more than 700 original print-quality photos of real preK–12 students and teachers. These royalty-free photos are available for use under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 license (CC BY-NC 4.0).
The Noun Project
Free CC BY icons; can make a paid account to license all content in Noun Project so you don’t have to attribute, can also pay for individual icons one-by-one without attribution
Free icons available in a variety of formats. Free version available. Some have Flat Icon Basic License similar to CC BY license.
Free icons available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported, no registration required. You can edit your icons, changing color, overlaying other icons, adding text, and more (even in the free version).
Vimeo (Creative Commons)
This search allows you to find Creative Commons-licensed videos that your can share, rework, and reuse, depending on the license.
To find YouTube videos with Creative Commons licenses, type in your search term and click enter. Then, select "Filters" and under "Features", select Creative Commons.
Music and Sound
Find free music for commercial and non-commercial use, as long as you give credit to the musicians.
Creative Commons-licensed sound effects, including audio snippets, samples, recordings, and bleeps.
YouTube Audio Library
Free music and sound effects for your video projects from YouTube
Soundcite is an open source tool that can annotate articles and papers with in-text sound clips.