Learn how to manage and promote your research worldwide with an identifier that is unique to you.
Managing Your Research and References
These are managers that are useful for keeping track of references.
International Committee of Medical Journal Editors
Check out the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly work in Medical Journals. here.
What to consider when choosing a journal
With thousands of journals at our fingertips, finding the most suitable journal might sometimes seem difficult. This short introductory video created by the Think, Check, Submit non-profit organization will help to make things a bit more clear.
Identifying a journal for publication: Questions & Considerations
Review the journal website information for the following:
- Scope: what subjects are covered; what type of articles are published, etc.
- Acceptance Rate: the percentage of the manuscripts accepted for publication by a particular scholarly journal.
- Impact factor: used to measure the importance or rank of a journal by calculating the times its articles are cited.
- Circulation Count: how often issues are published
- Access/Discoverability: is it indexed in large databases?
- Copyright Policy/Publisher’s policies/Permissions: Will your article be behind a paywall, or is there an Open Access option?
- Peer-review policy: check to see what their policies are, such as single-blind, double-blind; open review, etc.
- See an Author Guide example here.
Maximizing research impact is important but it is not everything. Focus your search for appropriate journals by answering the following questions:
- What journals are published in your field?
- What journals do you read?
- Who publishes the journals?
- Who are the most important authors that address similar issues to what you write about?
- Where do they publish their work?
- Bibliographies and article reference lists are helpful.
- Look at the references that you have cited in your paper. Are there several articles from the same journal in your reference list? Since your article builds on work published in that journal, consider contacting that journal to see if they might be interested in your article.
- Search for a topic in the EBSCO or ProQuest. databases. Look on the left side of the page for options such as Publication or Publication Title. Click on those entries and a list of journals that publish in your topic will show. You can examine the journals and if appropriate submit your article to one of those titles.
- Talk to your colleagues for recommendations or look up Touro Scholar to see where they publish their research.
Tools and resources to match your publishing ideas with a journal
The resources, tools & library databases below can help you pick a journal. These resources cover journals from different disciplines from a wide variety of publishers. Some are traditional journals and some are open access. Hover over the tiny i for more information.
Academic Journals is a publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals currently publishes over 100 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences. Our mission is to accelerate the dissemination of knowledge through the publication of high quality research articles using the open access model.
DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Edanz Journal Selector
Search over 28,651 journals and 12,010,643 abstracts to find the journal that's right for you
Elsevier's "What's the Best Journal for My Paper?" Tool
"The [Elsevier] Journal Finder tool: Helps inexperienced authors to select the correct journals for their papers; Helps authors working in multidisciplinary fields identify possible journals; Highlights journals that offer open-access options." (Description from website)
Jane Journal/Author Name Estimator (Health Sciences)
Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
Search, filter, sort, and compare journals from more than 46,000 titles
JournalReviewer is an independent site that aggregates information users provide about their experience with academic journals' review processes so that other others can be as informed as possible as they consider journal submissions.
Largest, free collection of scholarly journal table of contents (TOCs); over 33,000 journals. including Open Access and Hybrid journals
Springer Nature Author’s Guidance
A tutorial helping future authors to submit their manuscript to the Most suitable journal.
Taylor & Francis Online
Browse by your specialist subject
Over 300,000 periodicals, including academic/scholarly, peer-reviewed, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Over 900 subject areas.
A few Hybrid Journal Titles
Library databases to identify potential journals
Avoid the trap
Predatory Journals are no joke. Look out for the following red flags:
- Overly flattering solicitations to submit articles or guest edit
- Lack of contact information for the journal
- Lack of evidence of the editor's expertise or professional standing
- The promise of unusually short submission-to-publication times (such as a month or less)
- Avoid making Google searches, such as "fast review journal"; "journal fast review process", etc.
- Journal name that sounds vague (e.g., “The Journal of Care”) or is overly similar to that of a well-known journal
- To find more detailed information on Predatory journals and conferences, go to the Open Access section of this guide
- Check out the resources below for a list to legitimate and predatory journals:
Journal Evaluation Tool
This rubric was created to assist you in making the best decisions in choosing a credible journal for publishing your article.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Tips and step by step guidance on getting published.