LibGuides: Tudor and Elizabethan Literature: Literature Databases and Journals

Article Databases

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.

EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Literary Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes plot summaries, articles of literary criticism, author biographies, full-text of literary journals, book reviews, classic & contemporary poems, classic & contemporary short stories, full-text of classic novels, author interviews, & images of literary figures.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog [eBooks] This link opens in a new window
Over 36,000 free ebooks published by bona fide publishers and widely used for its collection of classic literature.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals, ebooks, dissertations, video, and news from ProQuest Central, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
SAGE Humanities & Social Science This link opens in a new window
Includes academic and research journals from SAGE and other publishers covering humanities & social science.

Additional Resources

Early Modern Literary Studies
Early Modern Literary Studies (ISSN 1201-2459) is a refereed journal serving as a formal arena for scholarly discussion and as an academic resource for researchers in the area. Articles in EMLS examine English literature, literary culture, and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. (Home page)
English Literary Renaissance
Texts, studies and bibliographies in the intellectual context and literary achievement of Tudor and Early Stuart England. (Description)
Spenser Online
This site brings together resources to support the reading, discussion, and enjoyment of Spenser’s works. (Welcome page)
The Sixteenth Century Journal
The SCJ is dedicated to providing readers with thought-provoking research and inquiry into the sixteenth century broadly defined (i.e., 1450-1648). Our articles all maintain a strong historical core and cover subjects from around the world. (About Page)