LibGuides: History of Mental Health Treatment: History of Mental Health Treatment

History of Mental Health Treatment

Ask a Librarian!

Email Me

History of Mental Health Treatment

Early mental health treatments often relied on superstition, with methods like exorcisms, bloodletting, and confinement in asylums. Over time, approaches evolved to include psychotherapy, medication, and more humane care, especially after the 20th-century deinstitutionalization movement.

American Psychosis by E. Fuller Torrey
ISBN: 9780199988723

Publication Date: 2013
Dorothea Dix by Margaret Muckenhoupt
ISBN: 9780198029588

Publication Date: 2004
Mental Health, Spirituality, and Religion in the Middle Ages and Early Modern Age by Albrecht Classen (Editor)
ISBN: 9783110361643

Publication Date: 2014

Madness: An American History of Mental Illness and its Treatment by Mary Young
ISBN: 9780786433988

Publication Date: 2010

Available at TU Health Sciences and TU Cross River Libraries
Mad in America by Robert. Whitaker
ISBN: 0738207993

Publication Date: 2003

Available at TU Midwood Library
From Madness to Mental Health by Gail Hornstein (Contribution by); Greg Eghigian (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813546650

Publication Date: 2009

Available at TU Women's Building Library

Online Resources

Britannica Academic

Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
EBSCO multi-search
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Covers clinical & social psychology, genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.

Health and History
Carries research papers on the history of medicine and health, book review essays and other matters of interest.
History of Psychiatry
Publishes research articles, analysis, information, and reviews on the history of mental illness as well as the forms of medicine, cultural response, and social policy that have evolved to understand and treat it.
History of Psychology
Addresses all aspects of psychology's past and its interrelationship with the many contexts within which it has emerged and has been practiced.

Biographical Archives of Psychiatry
Our archive provides information on the life and work of historical figures in the field of psychiatry. We present short biographies and biograms of professionals, psychiatric users and their relatives. BIAPSY – a participatory historical research project at Hochschule Niederrhein’s Faculty of Applied Social Sciences.
National Library of Medicine - The Mike Gorman Papers
The National Library of Medicine has made available online a digitized selection of the Mike Gorman Papers. Gorman was a journalist and activist who exposed the treatment of the mentally ill in the United States during the mid-20th century.
PBS - Treatment for Mental Illness
PBS is a private, nonprofit corporation, founded in 1969, whose members are America’s public TV stations -- noncommercial, educational licensees that operate more than 330 PBS member stations and serve all 50 states, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam and American Samoa.
Project Gutenberg - Ten Days in a Mad-House by Nellie Bly
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Ten Days in a Mad-House (1887) is a book by American journalist Nellie Bly. The book was based on articles written while Bly was on an undercover assignment in an insane asylum.