LibGuides: Abnormal Psychology: Sleep Disorders

Subject Guide

Email Me

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Sleep Disorders

Sleep Disorders - a medical condition that affects the quality, timing, and amount of sleep, which result in daytime distress and impairment in functioning

Clinical Sleep Medicine by Emmanuel H. During (Editor); Clete A. Kushida (Editor)
ISBN: 9781615373161

Publication Date: 2020
Essential Sleep Medicine and Surgery by Maria V. Suurna (Editor)
ISBN: 9781685073893

Publication Date: 2021
The Latest Trends in Sleep Medicine by Imran H. Iftikhar; Ali I. Musani
ISBN: 9789815051032

Publication Date: 2022
Sleep Disorders : Elements, History, Treatments, and Research by Gina Graci
ISBN: 9798216145721

Publication Date: 2021

Fundamentals of Sleep Technology by Teófilo L. Lee-Chiong; Cynthia Mattice; Rita Brooks
ISBN: 9781975111625

Publication Date: 2019

Available at TU Health Sciences Library
Kryger's Sleep Medicine Review by Meir H. Kryger; Russell Rosenberg; Douglas Kirsch
ISBN: 9780323654173

Publication Date: 2019

Available at TU Health Sciences Library
Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine by Meir H. Kryger; Thomas Roth; William C. Dement
ISBN: 9780323242882

Publication Date: 2016

Available at TU Health Sciences and TU Cross River Libraries
What You Need to Know about Sleep Disorders by John T. Peachey; Diane C. Zelman
ISBN: 9781440873362

Publication Date: 2021

Available at TU Health Sciences and TU Midwood Libraries

Online Resources

BioMedCentral Open Access
220 free peer-reviewed scientific journals in all areas of medical research and biology.
Health and Medicine (Gale)
Designed especially for the layperson.Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health.Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Covers alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health, cytology, nursing, nutrition, oncology, pediatric care, pharmacology, public health, radiology.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale)
Includes articles on direct patient care, healthcare administration, and more. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
PubMed @ Touro
Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Behavioral Sleep Medicine
Addresses behavioral dimensions of normal and abnormal sleep mechanisms and the prevention, assessment, and treatment of sleep disorders and associated behavioral and emotional problems.
Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine
Provides information on sleep disorders medicine and research.
Journal of Sleep Research
Provides a forum for research papers presenting new findings in the field of sleep and wakefulness, including biological rhythms and dreaming.
Neurobiology of Sleep and Circadian Rhythms
Focuses on the mechanisms of sleep/wake and circadian regulation at the molecular and systems level and on research to examine the function of sleep.
Sleep Medicine
Examines all human aspects of sleep, integrating the various disciplines involved in sleep medicine.

American Academy of Sleep Medicine
Established in 1975 as the Association of Sleep Disorders Centers, the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) is the only professional society dedicated exclusively to the medical subspecialty of sleep medicine.
American Psychiatric Association (APA) - Help With Sleep Disorders
The American Psychiatric Association is an organization of psychiatrists working together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness.
American Sleep Association
The ASA has spent the last decade working to educate the public on the importance of diagnosing and treating sleep disorders. Private, corporate, and promotional support have enabled the ASA to provide our educational resources to the public for free.
Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Sleep and Sleep Disorders
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services.
National Sleep Foundation
National Sleep Foundation has been the leading expert voice in the world of sleep science and health for nearly thirty years. Since 1996, SleepFoundation.org has served as the public face of the nonprofit, a platform for its acclaimed Sleep in America poll, as well as the sleep education and advocacy programs that remain the cornerstone of the Foundation’s work.