LibGuides: Abnormal Psychology: Alzheimer's and Other Dementia

Ask a Librarian!

Email Me

Disclaimer

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Alzheimer's and Other Dementia

Dementia - a condition characterized by progressive or persistent loss of intellectual functioning, especially with impairment of memory and abstract thinking, and often with personality change, resulting from organic disease of the brain.

Alzheimer's Disease Decoded: The History, Present, And Future Of Alzheimer's Disease And Dementia by Ronald Sahyouni, Nolan J Brown, and Jefferson William Chen
ISBN: 9789811235115
Publication Date: 2021
Dementia: the Basics by Anthea Innes; Lesley Calvert; Gail Bowker
ISBN: 9781317484639
Publication Date: 2020
Dilemmas and Decision Making in Dementia Care by Sarah Housden and Julia Hubbard
ISBN: 9781040373231
Publication Date: 2023
Textbook of Dementia Care by Graham Jackson (Editor); Debbie Tolson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315389837
Publication Date: 2019

Dementia and Society by Mathieu Vandenbulcke (Editor); Rose-Marie öes (Editor); Erik Schokkaert (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108843508
Publication Date: 2022
Available at TU Midwood Library
Dementia Rehabilitation by Lee-Fay Low (Editor); Kate Laver (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128186855
Publication Date: 2020
Available at TU Cross River Library
Fast Facts for Dementia Care, Second Edition by Carol A. Miller
ISBN: 9780826151711
Publication Date: 2020
Available at TU Health Sciences Library
A Loving Approach to Dementia Care by Laura Wayman
ISBN: 9781421440064
Publication Date: 2021
Available at TU Women's Building Library

Online Resources

Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers medical disciplines, particularly nursing & allied health.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health, cytology, nursing, nutrition, oncology, pediatric care, pharmacology, public health, radiology.
Psychiatry Online (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of American Psychiatric Publishing books and journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry. Content dates back to 1844.

Alzheimer's & Dementia
Covers all aspects of dementia research and clinical care, from molecular biology, through drug and non-drug therapies, to the psycho-social aspects of care.
Alzheimer's Research & Therapy
Provides forum for translational research into Alzheimer's disease.
Dementia
Focuses on the social experience of dementia. It provides a forum for social research of direct relevance to improving the quality of life and care of people with dementia and their families, and will publish papers from the fields of public health, social policy, social work and sociology.
Dementia and Geriatric Cognitive Disorders Extra
Covers all aspects of cognitive dysfunction such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease, Huntington's chorea and other neurodegenerative diseases.

Alzheimer's Association
The Alzheimer's Association leads the way to end Alzheimer's and all other dementia — by accelerating global research, driving risk reduction and early detection, and maximizing quality care and support.
Alzheimer's Foundation of America
The mission of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA) is to provide support, services and education to individuals, families and caregivers affected by Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias nationwide, and fund research for better treatment and a cure.
The Association for Frontotemporal Degeneration
AFTD’s mission is to improve the quality of life of people affected by FTD and drive research to a cure.
Dementia Care Central
DementiaCareCentral is a resource center for dementia caregivers, and more. When completed, DementiaCareCentral.com will include educational information, psychosocial and peer support tools, and interactive resources.