LibGuides: Nursing: Home

Home

DISCLAIMER

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles and other nursing guidelines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Covers medical disciplines, particularly nursing & allied health.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health, cytology, nursing, nutrition, oncology, pediatric care, pharmacology, public health, radiology.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Nursing And Allied Health Collection (Gale)

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for almost 5,500 journals, with no embargo dates.

In addition to the subscription databases that contain scholarly articles, Touro University Libraries also provides access to clinical resources that will help you prepare for your exams and review your clinical knowledge. Below are a few suggested resources.

Anatomy TV
View 3D rotatable images for 9 anatomical areas including Interactive Head & Neck, Interactive Pelvis & Perineum, and Interactive Spines; quizzes; MRI views.
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 45,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.

Books & eBooks

Touro Library Catalog

All of Touro's physical books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, or campus location, or search just e-books. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano
Call Number: WB 205 B583b 2021
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Available at the School of Health Sciences (On Reserve) & Cross River (On Reserve)!
Clinical Companion for Fundamentals of Nursing by Patricia A. Potter; Anne G. Perry; Patricia A. Stockert; Amy Hall
Call Number: WY 49 P868c 2022
ISBN: 9780323878586
Publication Date: 2022-06-06
Available at Kings Highway!
Clinical Reasoning Cases in Nursing by Mariann M. Harding; Julie S. Snyder
Call Number: WY 18.2 H263 2024
ISBN: 9780323831734
Publication Date: 2023-01-02
Available at Kings Highway!
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Essentials by Mary E. Zaccagnini; Judith M. Pechacek
Call Number: WY 18.5 D6367 2021
ISBN: 9781284167078
Publication Date: 2019-10-15
Available at Kings Highway!
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project: a Framework for Success by Katherine J. Moran (Contribution by); Rosanne Burson (Contribution by); Dianne Conrad (Contribution by)
Call Number: WY 18.5 D637 2024
ISBN: 9781284255447
Publication Date: 2023-03-01
Available at Kings Highway!
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education by Marilyn H. Oermann; Kathleen Gaberson
Call Number: WY 18 O29e 2021
ISBN: 9780826135742
Publication Date: 2019-12-28
Available at Kings Highway!
Gerontological Nursing by Kristen L. Mauk
Call Number: WY 152 G37714 2023
ISBN: 9781284233360
Publication Date: 2022-04-12
Available at Kings Highway!
Nursing Key Topics Review: Fluids and Electrolytes by Elsevier
Call Number: WY 18 F646n 2020
ISBN: 9780323551878
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
Pediatric Nursing by Gannon Tagher; Lisa Knapp
Call Number: WY 159 T125p 2020
ISBN: 9781496394224
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Available at Kings Highway!
Professional Nursing by Beth Black
Call Number: WY 16 P9644 2024
ISBN: 9780323776653
Publication Date: 2023-01-23
Available at Kings Highway & Cross River!
Quality and Safety Education for Nurses, Third Edition by Patricia Kelly (Editor); Beth A. Vottero (Editor); Gerry Altmiller (Editor)
Call Number: WY 18 I61 2022
ISBN: 9780826161444
Publication Date: 2022-02-28
Available at Kings Highway!
Role Development in Professional Nursing Practice by Kathleen Masters
Call Number: WY 16.1 R745 2023
ISBN: 9781284233421
Publication Date: 2021-12-20
Available at Kings Highway!
Statistics for Nursing by Elizabeth Heavey
Call Number: WA 950 H442 2019
ISBN: 9781284142013
Publication Date: 2019
Available at Kings Highway!

Davis's Diseases and Disorders by Marilyn Sawyer Sommers
Call Number: WY 49 D261 2019
ISBN: 9780803669055
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway (Reference Only)!
Field Guide to Telehealth and Telemedicine for Nurse Practitioners and Other Healthcare Providers by Craig Sorkin
Call Number: W 83.1 S714f 2022
ISBN: 9780826172754
Publication Date: 2021-10-28
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
General Practice Nursing by Deborah Duncan
ISBN: 9781910451212
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Lippincott Visual Nursing by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Call Number: WY 17 K16 2019
ISBN: 9781496381781
Publication Date: 2018-02-17
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
Nurse as Educator by Susan B. Bastable
ISBN: 9781284127201
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Nursing and Health Interventions by Souraya Sidani; Carrie Jo Braden
ISBN: 9781119610120
Publication Date: 2021-04-19
Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long-Term Conditions by Mandy Brimble (Editor); Peter McNee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119653110
Publication Date: 2021-03-15
Nursing Diagnosis Manual by Marilynn E. Doenges; Mary Frances Moorhouse; Alice C. Murr
Call Number: WY 100.4 D649n 2019
ISBN: 9780803676770
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research by James A. Fain
Call Number: WY 20.5 F162r 2021
ISBN: 9781719641821
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
Situation Specific Theories: Development, Utilization, and Evaluation in Nursing by Eun-Ok Im (Editor); Afaf I. Meleis (Editor)
Call Number: WY 86 S623 2021
ISBN: 9783030632229
Publication Date: 2021-02-06
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!

Ethical Issues in Women's Healthcare by Lori d'Agincourt-Canning (Editor); Carolyn Ells (Editor)
Call Number: W 50 E841 2019
ISBN: 9780190851361
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Available at Cross River!
Ethics and the Good Nurse by Andrew Peterson; James Arthur; Jinu Varghese
ISBN: 9781000539806
Publication Date: 2021-11-21
Global Mental Health Ethics by Allen R. Dyer (Editor); Brandon Kohrt (Editor); Philip J. Candilis (Editor)
Call Number: WM 31 G562 2021
ISBN: 9783030662950
Publication Date: 2021-05-23
Available at Cross River!
Key Concepts and Issues in Nursing Ethics by Anne Scott (Editor)
Call Number: WY 85 K44 2017
ISBN: 9783319492490
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
Legal and Ethical Issues in Nursing Education by Mary Ellen Smith Glasgow; H. Michael Dreher; Michael D. Dahnke; John Gyllenhammer
Call Number: WY 33 AA1 L496 2021
ISBN: 9780826161925
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Available at Kings Highway!
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich
Call Number: WY 85 B78 2020
ISBN: 9781284170221
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
Nursing Ethics: Feminist Perspectives by Helen Kohlen (Editor); Joan McCarthy (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030491031
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Nursing Ethics and Professional Responsibility in Advanced Practice by Pamela J. Grace
Call Number: WY 85 N9746 2018
ISBN: 9781284107333
Publication Date: 2018
Available at Kings Highway!

Medical Spanish for Nurses by Soledad Traverso; Laurie Urraro; Patty McMahon
ISBN: 9780826132956
Publication Date: 2017
Medical Terminology a living language by Bonnie F. Fremgen; Suzanne S. Frucht
Call Number: W 15 F869m 2019
ISBN: 9780134701202
Publication Date: 2019
Available at the Health Sciences Library & Kings Highway!
Medical Terminology Complete! by Bruce Wingerd
Call Number: W 18.2 W769m 2019
ISBN: 9780134701226
Publication Date: 2019
Available at the Health Sciences Library & Kings Highway!
Medical Terminology for Health Care Professionals by Jane Rice
Call Number: W 15 R496m 2018
ISBN: 9780134495347
Publication Date: 2018
Available at Kings Highway!
Medical Terminology made incredibly easy! by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Call Number: W 15 W893 2018
ISBN: 9781496374073
Publication Date: 2018
Available at the Health Sciences Library & Kings Highway!
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by VENES
Call Number: W 13 T113d 2017
ISBN: 9780803659049
Publication Date: 2017
Physical copy also available at the Health Sciences Library (Reference Only)!

Clayton's Basic Pharmacology for Nurses by Michelle Willihnganz; Samuel L. Gurevitz; Bruce D. Clayton
Call Number: QV 4 C622b 2020
ISBN: 9780323550611
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
Nursing 2020 Drug Handbook by Lippincott
Call Number: QV 39 N9735 2020
ISBN: 9781975109264
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2019 by Billie A. Wilson; Margaret Shannon; Kelly Shields
Call Number: QV39 N974g 2019
ISBN: 9780135204856
Publication Date: 2019
Available at Kings Highway!
Pharmacology and the Nursing Process by Linda Lane Lilley; Shelly Rainforth Collins; Julie S. Snyder
Call Number: QV 4 L729 2023
ISBN: 9780323827973
Publication Date: 2022-05-09
Available at Kings Highway!
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy by Lippincott Williams Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; Cherie R. Rebar (Editor); Nicole M. Heimgartner (Editor); Carolyn J. Gersch (Editor)
Call Number: QV 39 N9747 2022
ISBN: 9781975177553
Publication Date: 2022-05-19
Available at the Health Sciences Library (On Reserve)!
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 by Robert Kizior; Keith Hodgson
Call Number: QV39 K46s 2023
ISBN: 9780443116070
Publication Date: 2023-04-03
Available at Kings Highway!

Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research by Jennifer R. Gray; Susan K. Grove
Call Number: WY 20.5 G779b 2021
ISBN: 9780323673174
Publication Date: 2020-09-25
Available at Kings Highway!
Community and Public Health Nursing: evidence for practice by Judith Healey-Walsh
Call Number: WY 108 H282c 2020
ISBN: 9781975111694
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
Empirical Nursing by Bernie Garrett
ISBN: 9781787439887
Publication Date: 2018
Laboratory Screening and Diagnostic Evaluation by Kelly Small Casler (Editor); Kate Gawlik (Editor)
Call Number: QY 4 L123 2023
ISBN: 9780826140876
Publication Date: 2022-05-28
Available at Kings Highway!
Professional Issues in Nursing by Carol Huston
Call Number: WY 16 AA1 H972 2020
ISBN: 9781496398185
Publication Date: 2019-02-20
Available at Kings Highway!
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by MyoungJin Kim; Caroline Mallory
ISBN: 9781284088373
Publication Date: 2016-08-05

Fundamentals Success by Patricia M. Nugent; Barbara A. Vitale
Call Number: WY 18.2 N967f 2019
ISBN: 9780803677456
Publication Date: 2019-01-25
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
Lippincott Nclex-Rn Alternate-Format Questions by Diana Rupert
Call Number: WY 18.2 N435 2020
ISBN: 9781975115531
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
Lippincott Q&a Review for NCLEX-RN by Diane Billings; Desiree Hensel
Call Number: WY 18.2 B598L 2024
ISBN: 9781975180386
Publication Date: 2023-03-07
Available at Kings Highway (On Reserve)!
Master the NCLEX-PN by Peterson's
ISBN: 9780768942408
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Master the NCLEX-RN by Peterson's
ISBN: 9780768943665
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
NCLEX-RN by Diane Billings; Desiree Hensel
Call Number: WY 18.2 B598L 2020
ISBN: 9781975104665
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
NCLEX-RN for Dummies with Online Practice Tests by Patrick R. Coonan; Rhoda L. Sommer
ISBN: 9781119692805
Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Prioritization and Clinical Judgment for NCLEX-RN® by Christi Doherty
Call Number: WY 18.2 D655p 2020
ISBN: 9780803697232
Publication Date: 2020-01-29
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
Call Number: WY 18.2 S587sb 2022
ISBN: 9780323733052
Publication Date: 2021-02-24
Available at Kings Highway!
Test Success by Patricia M. Nugent; Barbara A. Vitale
ISBN: 9781719640022
Publication Date: 2020-01-31
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway (On Reserve)!

Advanced Practice Nursing Roles, Sixth Edition by Kathryn A. Blair (Editor)
Call Number: WY 128 A2442 2019
ISBN: 9780826161529
Publication Date: 2019
Available at Kings Highway!
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management by Sally A. Weiss; Ruth M. Tappen; Karen Grimley
Call Number: WY 105 W429e 2019
ISBN: 9780803669536
Publication Date: 2019
Physical copy also available at Kings Highway!
Indirect Care Handbook for Advanced Nursing Roles by Patti Rager Zuzelo
Call Number: WY 128 Z96 2020
ISBN: 9781284144109
Publication Date: 2020
Available at Kings Highway!
Leadership in Nursing Practice by Daniel Weberg; Kara Mangold; Tim Porter-O'Grady; Kathy Malloch
Call Number: WY 105 P847L 2019
ISBN: 9781284146530
Publication Date: 2019
Available at Kings Highway!
Nursing in Today's World by Amy Stegen Buckway; Holli Sowerby
Call Number: WY 16 E47n 2023
ISBN: 9781975184940
Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Available at Kings Highway!
Nursing Leadership, Management, and Professional Practice for the LPN/LVN by Tamara R. Dahlkemper
Call Number: WY 195 N548n 2018
ISBN: 9780803660854
Publication Date: 2018
Available at Kings Highway!
Role Development in Professional Nursing Practice by Kathleen Masters
Call Number: WY 16.1 R745 2023
ISBN: 9781284233421
Publication Date: 2021-12-20
Available at Kings Highway!
Advancing Your Career by Rose Kearney Nunnery
Call Number: WY 16 K24a 2020
ISBN: 9780803690141
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Available at Kings Highway!

National Library of Medicine Image Resources

Open-i
Open-i is an open access biomedical image search engine that searches images from PubMed Central articles as well as several special image collections. It allows for substantial search customization via filters.
MedPix
MedPix is an open access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.
NLM Digital Collections
NLM’s Digital Collections allow searching and browsing numerous document collections: Images from the History of Medicine, World War 1, Medicine in the Americas 1610-1920, and many more. You can also search the collections for only images.
The Visible Human Project
The Visible Human Project created publicly available three-dimensional representations of a male and a female human body. These images include cross-sectional cryosections, CT, and MRI images.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
The National Cancer Institute offers a collection of featured medical images in several collections: science & technology, childhood cancer, Spanish-language images and diagrams, anatomy, historical images, and B-roll videos. The full collection is also searchable.
Centers for Disease Control: Public Health Image Library
The Public Health Image Library offers a number of topical image collections on topics like influenza, bioterrorism, lab science, and more. Also of interest are image subsets selected for their interest to particular audiences: health care providers, teachers & trainers, librarians & researchers, students, consumers, and more.

Nursing

Librarian

Recommended Websites

Additional Resources

Video

Home

DISCLAIMER

Databases

Books & eBooks

National Library of Medicine Image Resources

Career Resources