Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Science Database (ProQuest)
Covers physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, etc. Includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, & other graphical elements.
Sage Premier Collection
Includes academic and research journals from SAGE and other publishers covering a broad range of subject areas.
SciVerse ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition
Includes over 1000 journals. and over 20 reference works, and handbooks. Covers biological chemistry, forensic sciences, human nutrition, immunology, psychotherapy, neurological sciences, etc. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
Large abstract and citation database containing both
peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Contains over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers and supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and the arts and humanities.
Welcome to the LibGuide on apoptosis. Apoptosis is programmed cell death. This guide will assist you with your research on this subject.
Apoptosis Video at The Cell
"A time-lapse series using digital holographic microscopy presented as a movie. The movie shows living human prostate cancer cells (DU 145) induced to undergo of apoptosis following treatment with etoposide. The images were created by Phase Holographic Imaging AB (PHIAB), Lund, Sweden." Description from website.
Apoptosis at Cells Alive!
Video of apoptosis and brief description.
The International Cell Death Society
"The Society attempts to promulgate research and clinical information on the broad topic of cell death, including apoptosis, autophagy, necrosis, necroptosis, and other variants." Description from website.
Keywords & Search Terms
Here are some search terms for you to try in the databases, such as ProQuest Science Journals and EBSCO Multi-search. Make sure you have the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" box checked off before you search!
Apoptosis AND Bacteria (try as keywords and as subjects)
Apoptosis AND Proteins
Apoptosis AND "Signal pathways"
Also try Apoptosis AND specific bacteria: Streptococcus, Staphylococcus, etc.
"Programmed cell death" and Bacteria