LibGuides: Apoptosis in Microbiology: Apoptosis

Google Scholar

Chat

Popular Databases

EBSCO multi-search This link opens in a new window
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, etc. Includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, & other graphical elements.
SAGE Humanities & Social Science This link opens in a new window
Includes academic and research journals from SAGE and other publishers covering humanities & social science.
SciVerse ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1000 journals. and over 20 reference works, and handbooks. Covers biological chemistry, forensic sciences, human nutrition, immunology, psychotherapy, neurological sciences, etc. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large abstract and citation database containing both
peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Contains over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers and supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and the arts and humanities.

Apoptosis

Welcome to the LibGuide on apoptosis. Apoptosis is programmed cell death. This guide will assist you with your research on this subject.

Apoptosis, also called programmed cell death, in biology, is a mechanism that allows cells to self-destruct when stimulated by the appropriate trigger. Apoptosis can be triggered by mild cellular injury and by various factors internal or external to the cell; the damaged cells are then disposed of in an orderly fashion. As a morphologically distinct form of programmed cell death, apoptosis is different from the other major process of cell death known as necrosis. Apoptosis involves condensation of the nucleus and cytoplasm, followed by cellular partitioning into well-defined fragments for disposal. In multicellular organisms, cell number normally results from the rate of cell production minus the rate of apoptosis.

Apoptosis. (2021). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/apoptosis/3018

Extrinsic and intrinsic factors of apoptosis.

Websites

Apoptosis: National Human Genome Research Institute, Sponsored by NIH
CancerQuest: Winship Cancer Institute Emory University ©2021, Detailed overview of Apoptosis and Pathways
What Is Apoptosis?, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, 2014

E-Books

Apoptosis: Physiology and Pathology by John C. Reed (Editor); Douglas R. Green
ISBN: 9780521886567
Publication Date: 2011-08-22
eBook
Apoptosis Methods in Toxicology by Perpetua M. Muganda (Editor)
ISBN: 1493980866
Publication Date: 2018-04-19
Location: Health Sciences
Molecular Exploitation of Apoptosis Pathways in Prostate Cancer by Natasha Kyprianou
ISBN: 9781848164505
Publication Date: 2012-03-07
eBook
Signalling Pathways in Apoptosis by Martin Lavin; Dianne Watters; Diane Watters
ISBN: 9780203303658
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
eBook

Videos

ACSM Select Symposium—Exercise and Obesity: Pathways to Breast Cancer
Running time: 1:22:53
American College of Sports Medicine. Monterey, CA: Jan 1, 2008.
Apoptosis by Kahn Academy, 2016
Running time: 10:47
Cancer Prevention: Is Exercise Or Healthy Body Weight More Important? (2014)
Running time: 01:49:42
Audio & Video Works
How Can Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia Be Treated Effectively in a Variety of Patients?
Running time: 12:00
Latest Thinking. Audio & Video Works (2016)
How Cells Communicate: Signaling Molecules and Transduction Pathways 2 (2015)
Running time: 19:17
How cells communicate: Signaling molecules and transduction pathways 2. Rees, R. (Director).
Immune Response to Viruses (2009)
Running time: 08:56
Human Immune System. Medcom Video Training Programs Collection. Cypress: Medcom, Inc.
The science of cells that never get old: Elizabeth Blackburn
Running time: 18:38
TED talk from 2017.

Readings

Apoptosis paves the detour path for CD8 T cell activation against intracellular bacteria.
Winau, Florian, et al. (2004) Cellular Microbiology. Vol. 6 Issue 7, p599-607. 9p.
The biochemistry of cell death: Book review of Cell Death: Apoptosis and Other Means to an End, Second Edition
Carlotta, Z., Carlo, G., & Gerry, M. (2020). The biochemistry of cell death. Cell Death and Disease, 11(4) Doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1038/s41419-020-2465-5
Carotenoids in Cancer Apoptosis—The Road from Bench to Bedside and Back
Koklesova, Lenka; et al. (2020) Cancers; Basel Vol. 12, Iss. 9, 2425
Cell-bound Exopolysaccharide Extract from Indigenous Probiotic Bacteria Induce Apoptosis in HT–29 cell-line
Iran J Pathol. (2019) Winter; 14(1): 41–51.
COVID‐19 and hematology findings based on the current evidences: A puzzle with many missing pieces.
Shahri, M.K, Niazkar, H., Rad, F., (2020)
Flavonoids in Cancer and Apoptosis.
Abotaleb, M., Samuel, S. M., Varghese, E., Varghese, S., Kubatka, P., Liskova, A., & Büsselberg, D. (2018). Flavonoids in Cancer and Apoptosis. Cancers, 11(1). https://doi.org/10.3390/cancers11010028
Fungal apoptosis: function, genes and gene function
Amir, Sharon; Finkelstein, Alin; Shlezinger, Neta; Hatam, Ido. (2009) FEMS Microbiology Reviews; Delft Vol. 33, Iss. 5, 833-854.
Heat-killed probiotic bacteria induce apoptosis of HT-29 human colon adenocarcinoma cell line via the regulation of Bax/Bcl2 and caspases pathway
Karimi Ardestani, S; Tafvizi, F; Tajabadi Ebrahimi, M., (2019) Human & experimental toxicology, Volume 38, Issue 9
Molecular mechanisms of bacteria induced apoptosis
Grassmé, H; Jendrossek, V; Gulbins, E. (2001) Apoptosis : An International Journal on Programmed Cell Death; London Vol. 6, Iss. 6, 441-5.
The rise of apoptosis: targeting apoptosis in hematologic malignancies
Rebecca Valentin , Stephanie Grabow , Matthew S. Davids (2018) Blood: 132 (12): 1248–1264.

Open Access

BMC Molecular and Cell Biology (Open Access)
BMC Molecular and Cell Biology, formerly known as BMC Cell Biology, is an open access journal that considers articles on all aspects of cellular and molecular biology in both eukaryotic and prokaryotic cells.
DOJA (Directory of Open Access Journals)
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Mendeley (Open Access)
Create free Mendeley Login. Search "apoptosis"
Lecture 24: Stem Cells, Apoptosis, and Tissue Homeostasis
Running time: (46:02)
MIT Open Courseware Fall 2018
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Subject Guide

Theresa Zahor

Online Resources

Apoptosis Video at The Cell
"A time-lapse series using digital holographic microscopy presented as a movie. The movie shows living human prostate cancer cells (DU 145) induced to undergo of apoptosis following treatment with etoposide. The images were created by Phase Holographic Imaging AB (PHIAB), Lund, Sweden." Description from website.
Apoptosis at Cells Alive!
Video of apoptosis and brief description.
The International Cell Death Society
"The Society attempts to promulgate research and clinical information on the broad topic of cell death, including apoptosis, autophagy, necrosis, necroptosis, and other variants." Description from website.

Keywords & Search Terms

Here are some search terms for you to try in the databases, such as ProQuest Science Journals and EBSCO Multi-search. Make sure you have the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" box checked off before you search!

Apoptosis AND Bacteria (try as keywords and as subjects)

Apoptosis AND Proteins

Apoptosis AND "Signal pathways"

Also try Apoptosis AND specific bacteria: Streptococcus, Staphylococcus, etc.

"Programmed cell death" and Bacteria

Apoptosis in Microbiology: Apoptosis

Quick Search