Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ask a librarian logo

Jewish Women & Women in History and Humanities

Selected Reference Books

Complete List of Reference Books

General Reference Books on Women

Klezmer, Deborah (ed.) Dictionary of Women Worldwide (CT 3202 D53 2007)

Witleib (ed.), Book of Women's Firsts, (CT 3260.R428.1992)

Notable American Women, Harvard Univ. Press, [CT 3260.N573]

Kramarae (ed.) Routledge Invernational Encyclopedia of Women [ HQ 1115. R69 2000)

Klezmer (ed.) Women in World History [ HQ  1115 W6 1999)

Franck (ed.) The Wilson Chronlogy of Women's Achievements (HQ 1121.F65 1998)

Lightman (ed.), A to Z of Anceint Greek and Roman Women (HQ 1136. L54 2008)

Levin (ed.) Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance Period (HQ 1143 E93 2000)

Lawler (ed.), Encyclopedia of Women int he Middle Ages (HQ 1143. L38 2001)

Margolis (ed.) Women in the Middle Ages (HQ1143 W643 2004 2 vols.)

Schaus, Women and Gender in Medieval Euyrope: An Encyclopedia (HQ 1147E85 W66 2006)

Boynton and Malin (eds.), Encyclopedia of Womens' Autobiography (HQ 1185 E63 2005 2 vols.)

Rappaport, Women Social Reformers (HQ 1236. R29 2001, 2 vols.)

Kort and Sonneborn (eds.), A To Z of Women in the Visual Arts  (HQ 1412.H54 2002)

Faure, Chrisitne (ed), Political and Historical Encyclopedia of Women, (HQ 1236.5 E85 E52 2003)


Jewish Women Reference and Reserve Books

Aviner, Shlomo Hayim, Eshet ḥayil : nashim ba-Tanakh, (JUD BS575 .A93 1999)

see also: נשים בתנך : והשתקפותן באגדה, בשיר, בסיפור, במסה ובמחקר

Masnik, Ann, Bibliography of The Jewish Women: An Annotated Selected Bibliography, 1986-1993, Biblio Press (JUD Hq 1172 C361 1996)

Cantor, Aviva, The Jewish Woman 1900-1985: A Biblliography, Biblio Press, (JUD HQ 1172. C36 1987)

Marcus, The American Jewish Women: A Documentary History, (Jud HQ 1172. M37 1991)

Glatt, Aaron Eli, Women in the Talmud : an anthology of the Talmud's stories about women, as explained by the classic commentators, Zeraim-Moed = [Nashim ba-Talmud]  (RES JUD BM509.W7 G55 2003)

Hyman, Naomi, (ed), Biblical women in the Midrash : a sourcebook  (JUD BM509.W7 B53 1997)

Ilan, Tal, Integrating women into Second Temple history (JUD BM729.W6 I42 2001)

Ilan, Tal, Jewish women in Greco-Roman Palestine  (JUD BM729 .W6 I43 1996)

 

Subject Guide

David Levy's picture
David Levy
 

Connect with Touro Libraries:

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our Instagram Read our Blog Watch our Videos

Stay connected!

Like us on FacebookLike us on Facebook Follow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter View our InstagramView our Instagram Read our BlogRead our Blog Watch our VideosWatch our Videos