LibGuides: Public Library Systems in New York City: New York, Brooklyn, and Queens

General Information

New York City has three library systems:

New York Public Library (NYPL) serves Manhattan, Staten Island, and the Bronx
Brooklyn Public Library (BPL) serves Brooklyn
Queens Library serves Queens

Library Services include:

Borrowing physical books for children, young adults, and adults, both fiction and nonfiction
Borrowing e-books and audiobooks that can be read on phone, computer, or e-reader
Reference services to help you find the book, resource, or information you need
Printing, computer use, and free wi-fi
Events for babies and children, like storytime, interactive music and movement classes, crafts, games, and homework help
Events for teens including crafts, gaming, book groups, movie nights, and homework help
Events for adults including book discussion groups, crafts, language classes, and technology workshops
Career services, including resume and cover-letter classes, financial counseling, and business resources

Librarian

Emma Larson-Whittaker

Public Library Events and Services

NYPL Events

The Library is here to help you learn and connect with your community through our wide array of free events, programs, classes, book clubs, and more. Please check listings to confirm if a program is in-person, online, or outdoors.

If you have any questions about events, please contact the participating branch for more information.

Brooklyn Public Library Events

The Library has numerous daily events for all ages. Events can be in-person, outside, and virtual. Unless otherwise noted, events are free.

Queens Public Library Events

Queens Public Library presents a diverse array of activities and events for all ages including kids, teens, and older adults. Programs range from technology training to cultural performances and from job help to teleconferences for the homebound.

NYPL Locations

NYPL Locations

Brookyn Library Locations

Brooklyn Library Locations

Queens Library Locations

Queens Library Locations

Library Card Information

The NYPL, Brooklyn Public Library, and Queens Public Library all have a central library location, as well as many branch libraries located around the boroughs.

All of them allow people who live, work, attend school, or own property in New York State to get a full library card that allows you to check out physical books, read e-books and other online resources, and make use of other library services.

They all also have an "e-card" option, available for those who aren't able to get to a library location to get their full card. E-card options allow for more limited use of library resources.

Please see below for information on how to sign up for a library card.

New York Public Library

Get a New York Public Library Card

If you live, work, attend school, or pay property taxes in New York State, you can get a free library card!

To get a digital library card, fill out the form at the link above. To get a physical library card, to check out physical library books, go to an open NYPL location, fill out the application form there, and present one or more of the following forms of identification

Adults may provide only one piece of identification if it is 1 of the following valid New York State or City IDs:

Current driver's license
Current photo learner's permit
Current non-driver's identification (includes IDNYC)

If the above documentation is not available, any 2 of the following forms of identification are acceptable for adults and/or young adults, provided one shows a photo and name and/or signature and the other the applicant's current address:

Current college or university photo ID card
Current employee photo ID card
New York City welfare ID card
Current Armed Services ID card
Alien Registration photo ID card
Matricula Consular (Mexican CID)
Current passport
Medicare/Medicaid card
Social Security card
Birth certificate
New York State motor vehicle registration
Professional, vocational or union photo ID
Current rent bill or lease agreement
Tax bill or receipt**
Transit pass
Current photo ID with signature and expiration date issued by an embassy or consulate in New York
Statement from a homeless shelter*
Bank statement**
Cable, phone or utility bill**
Any piece of mail delivered by the US Post Office**

Brooklyn Public Library

Get a Brooklyn Public Library Card

Brooklyn Public Library's card is free for anyone that lives, works, pays property taxes, or attends school in New York State.

Eligible individuals can fill out the webform at the above link, after which they will be directed to go to a currently open BPL branch with appropriate identification to complete their registration and pick up their card.

Eligible individuals may also fill out this webform to get access only to digital materials

Acceptable government issued IDs include:

Current New York State Driver’s License
Current New York State Driver’s Permit
Current New York State Identification Card
Current IDNYC Municipal Card

See below for what to do if you are a New York resident with an out-of-state ID.

Young adults (ages 13 to 16) can also provide the following in lieu of the above:

Current school photo ID
Current report card
Working papers

If you do not have any of the IDs listed above, you may provide a current photo ID (e.g. passport, work ID, military ID, green card, etc.) plus proof of current NYS address that has been issued in the last 3 months (paystub, postmarked mail, utility bill). An electronic bill, rental/lease agreement, or bank statement may be used to fulfill the residency requirement*.

Queens Public Library

Get a Queens Library Card

If you live, work, go to school or own property in New York State, you are eligible for a full Queens Library card. Anyone is eligible for a Queens e-library card; simply fill out the webform available at the link above.

To get a regular Queens Library Card, go to an open Queens Library location with the appropriate identification:

This can be one of the following New York State IDs:

Your driver's license
Your learner's permit (with photo)
Your non-driver's identification card

OR one of these photo IDs:

Your employee photo ID card
Your NYC welfare ID card
Your photo college/university ID
Your passport
Your photo alien registration card
Your military ID card
Your professional, vocational, or union photo ID

AND one of these with your address:

Your Medicare card
Your working papers
Your transit pass
Your New York State motor vehicle registration
Your current rental or lease agreement
A check or checkbook with your name and address
A tax bill or receipt
A bank statement from within the last three months
A rent bill from the last three months
A utility bill (electric, gas, phone, TV, etc.) from the last three months
Any piece of your mail delivered within the last three months

Public Library Archives and Special Collections

New York Public Library

Library for Performing Arts
The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, one of the Library’s renowned research libraries, houses one of the world's most extensive research collections in the fields of theatre, film, dance, music, and recorded sound, as well as a wide array of circulating and reference materials.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
A world-leading cultural institution devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
Special Collections at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building
The New York Public Library’s flagship location, the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, is one of the Library’s premier research centers, renowned for its extraordinary historical collections and its commitment to providing free and equal access to its resources. This location has a archival collections on a number of topics, including Local History and Genealogy; Maps; Judaica; and Rare Books.
Thomas Yoseloff Business Center
The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) is The New York Public Library’s premier business library, offering an array of free resources for those interested in personal finance and investing, small business, financial research, and career services. It also provides premium electronic resources and services for businesses of all sizes, from start-ups to established businesses seeking expansion, and for job seekers, from entry to executive levels.

Brooklyn Public Library

Center for Brooklyn History
The Center for Brooklyn History at the Brooklyn Public Library has primary sources on Jewish history, LGBTQ history, Civil Rights, Geneology, Sports, Indigenous history, Brooklyn architecture, and Agriculture

Queens Library

Historic Manuscripts & Photo Collections
The Archives contains approximately 2,500 cubic feet of manuscripts. Some archival collections contain only “manuscript,” or paper, materials. Some contain only photographs, and some consist of a combination of materials. Every collection is described by documents our archivists create called finding aids.
Historic Maps
The Archives at Queens Public Library's map collection is an incredibly rich resource documenting the transformation of Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau, Suffolk, Long Island, New York City, and New York State from rural, empty farm land into one of the most densely populated metropolitan areas in the United States.
Historic Newspapers
The Archives has subscriptions to 49 journals and 28 newspapers and gives you access to over 150 years of published journalism.
Black Heritage Reference Center
The collection places emphasis on the study of the African-American and African diasporic experience, including those geographic areas where African Americans have lived in significant numbers, including West Africa, South America, the Caribbean, Canada, and the United States.