LibGuides: Psychological Research: Library Resources

What is a Scholarly Article?

Many of your professors will ask you to use scholarly articles in your assignments. You can do that by using the databases linked above, like PsycINFO. But first, you should know what a scholarly article is:

Suggested Keywords

These keywords can help you start your search for articles and other resources in psychology:

Clinical Psychology
Cognitive Science
Developmental Psychology
Mental Illness
Neuropsychology
Psychiatry
Psychological Tests
Psychology
Psychophysiology

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with almost 7,000 full text periodicals.
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access articles published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. Covers general psychology as well as specialized and theoretical research in psychology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers clinical & social psychology, genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations concerning behavioral science and mental health.

Videos

Kanopy Psychology Videos
In this streaming video database, you can find 300 videos and video series on psychology alone. Browse the psychology videos or search for your own keywords
Khan Academy YouTube Videos - Psychology
Check out Khan Academy's YouTube videos. Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. They have also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.

Information Literacy for Psychology

Psychology Database First Year Instruction Starter Kit
From ProQuest: "The attached handout provides suggested in-class activities to teach information literacy skills with Psychology Database and incorporates the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy."