Skip to Main Content
Introduction to Lewis Carroll
Helpful Websites & Databases
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of all Cambridge history volumes (300+) published to date. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history. Content is displayed as page images and can be searched via metadata and full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines, many going back to the mid-1800s. Includes the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, & VII; Business II; Health & General Science, Jewish Studies, Hebrew Journals.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes plot summaries, articles of literary criticism, author biographies, full-text of literary journals, book reviews, classic & contemporary poems, classic & contemporary short stories, full-text of classic novels, author interviews, & images of literary figures.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes academic and research journals from Oxford University Press covering a broad range of subject areas.
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes academic and research journals from SAGE and other publishers covering a broad range of subject areas.
Common Themese and Search Terms
Themes & Search Terms:
- Loss of Innocence
- Growing up (Fluctuation of Size)
- Life (is a Puzzle /Meaningless)
- Spoken Words Matter
- Role ( Fulfillment in Life )
- Acceptance of Life Situation ( Future/Past)
Touro Catalog Works by Lewis Carroll
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll; Donald J. Grey (Editor)
Call Number: PR 4611 .A4 G7 1992
Publication Date: 1992-04-17
The Annotated Alice by Lewis Carroll; Martin Gardner (Editor); John Tenniel (Illustrator)
Call Number: PR 4611 .A66 2000
Publication Date: 1999-11-17
Alice Adventures in Wonderland
Work of Fiction. Best Known and Incredibly Popular this work was Published in 1865
The story about Alice a young girl who falls asleep in a meadow. She has a strange dream where she follows a White Rabbit down a hole and everything after that changes in a strange way. She has weird and illogical adventures, one famous one where she changes size from very tall to very small. She meets bizarre and fascinating creatures such as the Mad Hatter, the Cheshire Cat, the March Hare, the Mock Turtle, and the Red Queen. Most help her but some hinder her on her dreamlike journey. She also encounters a creature known solely as The Jabberwocky
This story is often seen to be about drugs, or LSD or thought to have been an influencer on its author, though claims have been made refuting that (See the Counterwise Website link).
Through the Looking Glass
The Sequal to the above work., Was published in 1871. Adventures follow the main character Alice as she passes through a mirror into a different world, This one is dominated by chess boards and pieces. Though some of the same characters from before do return such as The Red Queen..
The Hunting of the Snark
Often seen as a nonsense poem this work was published in 1876. The poem describes the men of a sea voyage aboard a ship in search of the elusive snark. All of the seaman have names starting with the letter B, including the Bellman, Boots, the Bonnet maker, the Barrister, the Broker, the Billiard maker, the Banker, the Beaver, the Baker, and the Butcher.
Carroll attached the name of his childhood friend Gertrude Chataway in the first stanza of the poem.
Touro Catalog Lewis Carroll Criticism and Analysis
Lewis Carroll by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: PR 4612 .L452 1987
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
The Making of the Alice Books by Ronald Reichertz
Call Number: PR4611 .A73 R44 1997eb
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Touro Catalog Works About Lewis Carroll
Lewis Carroll by Morton N. Cohen
Call Number: PR 4612 C588 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-26
The Story of Alice by Robert Douglas-Fairhurst
Call Number: PR 4612 .D67 2015EB
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
In the Shadow of the Dreamchild by Karoline Leach
Call Number: PR4612 .L43 2015eb
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Lewis Carroll by Kiera Stevenson
Call Number: PR4612 .S75 2005eb
Publication Date: 2005
Lewis Carroll in Wonderland and at Home by Belle Moses
Call Number: PR4612 .M674 2016eb
Quotes about Lewis Carroll