Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ask a librarian logo

Speech & Communication

Article Databases

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. 

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.  

Get started quickly with the seach bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you've registered for off-campus access.

Academic Search Complete
Limit Your Results

For more in-depth information, choose a subject area that covers your speech topic and try one of the recommended databases.

Master the art of database searching with these tips:

     

 

 

 

 

 

 

Methods include:

  • Focusing on keywords: Instead of searching for long phrases or questions, choose 2-5 of the most important terms, usually nouns like people, places, or things. 
  • Changing your search terms:
    • Often, there are several different ways to describe a single idea. Changing the words you use to search is the easiest way of refining your results.
  • The use of Booleen operators:
    • AND - between two words to narrow a search
    • NOT- between two words to narrow a search by exclusion
    • OR - between two words to expand a search 
  • Truncation: dropping part of a word and replacing it with a symbol to broaden the search
    • For example: music* also searches for musical, musician, musicians, music's, etc
  • Citation Searching: using the works cited page of a specific article/book/abstract to find additional related materials
  • Phrase Searching: using quotation marks around a specific phrase to ensure the entire phrase is found. 

Keep in mind that search options vary for each database.  Specific information and methods are available on the database's home page, help page, or advanced search page.

Recommended Websites

Books & eBooks

All of Touro's books and e-books can be found by searching the catalog (below, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Touro Library Catalog


advanced search

 

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, or search just e-books by selecting "TC  E-Books" under Location. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Stay connected!

Like us on FacebookLike us on Facebook Follow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter View our InstagramView our Instagram Read our BlogRead our Blog Watch our VideosWatch our Videos