LibGuides: Coronavirus (COVID-19): Scholarly Research

Library Info

How-To Guides

Student Guide Handout

ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.

How to Read Scientific Papers

This article provides a quick introduction to how to read novel coronavirus studies published as research papers. For further help reading and understanding research papers, please contact a librarian.

How You Should Read Coronavirus Studies, or Any Science Paper
While this NY Times article was written at the beginning of the pandemic it contains valuable guidance for reading scholarly journal articles this is still relevant.

Scholarly Resources

The following major journal publishers have made scientific research and scholarly articles related to COVID-19 freely available at this time:
BMJ	CAMBRIDGE	CELL
ELSEVIER	JAMA	LANCET
NATURE	OXFORD	WILEY

Academic Databases

Databases

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.

Get started quickly with the search bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you log in to TouroOne before accessing the databases.

QuickSearch lets you search across all of the library resources at once, including books, ebooks, articles, and video. A great place to start your research!

Tip: Look for the "Cite" option on the right to quickly generate a citation in any style.

Touro Library Article QuickSearch

When searching for information it is always important to use the most appropriate keywords. Viruses and the diseases they cause often will have different names. Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) is the virus responsible for the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19). Searching with the term COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 should yield the most relevant results when looking for information about the current coronavirus outbreak.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with almost 7,000 full text periodicals.
Coronavirus Research Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.

LITCOVID Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus and the most comprehensive resource on the subject.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers clinical & social psychology, genetics, psychology of business & economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, etc.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window Contains editorial content (corporate data, industry analyses, summary financials, top competitors, etc.) on public & non-public companies & key executives.

Google Scholar

To find additional quality information online, try using Google Scholar, which searches an academically-oriented subset of online materials:

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Scholarly Research