LibGuides: Preventive Medicine: Informative Resources

Informative Resources

Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to preventive care.

If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about preventative medicine by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.

AccessMedicine
Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
BASE
Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
EBSCO multi-search
Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
JAMA Network Journals & Archives Journals
Includes access to JAMA and the 9 JAMA specialty journals (formerly the Archives journals) from 1998 forward. Also includes the JAMA Network Archives Journals backfile, with some titles dating back to the 1910s.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
Public Health Database (Proquest)
Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Includes thousands of full-text dissertations provide in-depth scholarly insights into important topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, international public health, maternal and child health, and occupational safety and health.
PubMed @ Touro
Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

American Journal of Preventative Medicine
The premier source of timely and evidence-based information on prevention science, education, practice, and policy for a global audience.
International Journal of Preventive Medicine
A peer-reviewed, open access journal in public health, health promotion, rehabilitation & disease prevention.
Journal of Preventive Medicine and Hygiene
The Journal of Preventive Medicine and Hygiene is published on a three-monthly basis and covers the field of epidemiology and community health.
Journal of Preventive Medicine and Public Health
Journal of Preventive Medicine & Public Health (JPMPH) is a peer-reviewed journal published bimonthly by the Korean Society for Preventive Medicine.
The Journal of Primary Prevention
Publishes manuscripts that address the prevention of high risk behaviors, the reduction of associated problems and harms.

All of Touro's books can be found by searching the catalog (below, or where it says Catalog Find Print Books on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, etc.

Search just eBooks by selecting eBooks on the library homepage.

If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Michael W. Rabow; Kenneth R. McQuaid; Monica Gandhi
ISBN: 9781266266232
Publication Date: 2024-08-22
Available in eBook format.
Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine: Sixteenth Edition by Matthew L. Boulton; Robert H. Wallace
ISBN: 9781259644511
Publication Date: 2021-11-11
Available in eBook format.
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by Joann G. Elmore; Dorothea Wild; Heidi D. Nelson; David L. Katz
Call Number: WA 950 J47 2020
ISBN: 0323642012
Publication Date: 2020-02-05
Available on reserve at the Cross River and Health Sciences Library locations.

American College of Preventative Medicine
The American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM) believes in saving lives, creating healthier communities, and transforming our healthcare system.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC works to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.
U.S. Preventative Services Task Force
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF or Task Force) makes evidence-based recommendations about preventive services such as screenings, behavioral counseling, and preventive medications.
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization
NHPCO provides its members with the essential tools they need to stay current with leading practices, understand policy changes, and improve their quality of care.