LibGuides: Obstetrics: Informative Resources

Informative Resources

Below are some of the suggested databases for locating scholarly articles pertaining to obstetrics.

If you would like to see the full list of databases available to Touro students, click here. Once there, you can narrow your database options to ones most likely to contain information about cardiology by choosing Health Sciences in the drop down menu.

AccessMedicine
Access more than 50 leading medical texts, over 25,000 images, videos and audio, USMLE-formatted questions, a self-assessment feature, diagnostic tools, clinical cases, etc.
Access is unavailable for New York College of Podiatric Medicine (NYCPM).

Note: New York College of Podiatric Medicine (NYCPM) has no access to this database.
Anatomy.tv – Primal Pictures
View 3D rotatable images for 9 anatomical areas including Interactive Head & Neck, Interactive Pelvis & Perineum, and Interactive Spines; quizzes; MRI views.
BASE
Provides access to more than 100 million documents, including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections, in most subject areas.
EBSCO multi-search Search articles in many EBSCO databases at once. Encompasses ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
JAMA Network Journals & Archives Journals
Includes access to JAMA and the 9 JAMA specialty journals (formerly the Archives journals) from 1998 forward. Also includes the JAMA Network Archives Journals backfile, with some titles dating back to the 1910s.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, biology, and bio-chemistry.
Public Health Database (Proquest)
Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Includes thousands of full-text dissertations provide in-depth scholarly insights into important topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, international public health, maternal and child health, and occupational safety and health.
PubMed @ Touro
Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

All of Touro's books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or where it says Catalog Find Print Books on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, campus location, etc.

Search just eBooks by selecting eBooks on the library homepage.

If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.

The items below are just a sampling of the many titles available:

Obstetrics: Maternal-Fetal Medicine by Rosa Horton (Editor)
Call Number: WQ 100 O14 2021

ISBN: 1639271600

Publication Date: 2022-03-01

Available in print format at the Health Sciences Library.
Maternal and Fetal Evaluation and Immediate Newborn Care by Robert A. Sinkin (Editor); Christian A. Chisholm (Editor)
Call Number: WQ 100 M425 2021

ISBN: 9781610024945

Publication Date: 2021-10-30

Available in print format at the Health Sciences Library.
Also available as an eBook.
Abortion Care As Moral Work by Johanna Schoen (Editor); Curtis Boyd (Contribution by); Glenna Boyd (Contribution by); Renee Chelian (Contribution by); Thomas Cunningham (Contribution by); Sarah Dubow (Contribution by); Marc Heller (Contribution by); Amy Hagstrom Miller (Contribution by); Colin Partridge (Contribution by); Shelley Sella (Contribution by); Shannon Withycombe (Contribution by)
Call Number: HQ767.15 .A265 2022

ISBN: 9780813597263

Publication Date: 2022-06-30

Available in print format at the Cross River and Health Sciences Library locations.
Also available in eBook format.

American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Covers the full spectrum of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Case Reports in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Publishes case reports in all areas of obstetrics and gynecology.
Contemporary OB/GYN
Publication dedicated to translating science into sound clinical practice.
Infectious Diseases in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Publishes original papers focusing on the study or treatment of infectious disease in the obstetric patient or the female reproductive organs.
Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
An international peer-reviewed medical journal that publishes original research and review articles.
Journal of Pregnancy; New York
Publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies related to all aspects of pregnancy.

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Supports their members to improve the lives of all people seeking obstetric and gynecologic care, their families, and communities.
Pregnancy (MedlinePlus/National Library of Medicine)
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Its mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information.
Staying Healthy During Pregnancy (John Hopkins)
Improving the health of the community and the world by providing medical education, research and clinical care.

Obstetrics

Informative Resources

Access is unavailable for New York College of Podiatric Medicine (NYCPM).