Food and Nutrition: Home

The following are some important Web Resources on nutrition information, dietary guidance, food safety and labeling, research information and assistance programs:

• Dietary Guidance

• Food and Nutrition Information Center 

• Food Labeling 

• Food Research and Development 

• National Agricultural Library (NAL)

• Nutrition.gov: Home

• Nutrition Assistance Programs

• World Health Organozation - Nutrition and Food Safety

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. 

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.  

Get started quickly with the seach bar below, or check out some of our subject-specific recommendations. Be sure you've registered for off-campus access.

Includes academic and research journals from Oxford University Press covering a broad range of subject areas.

Designed especially for the layperson.Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health.Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Library Initiative is a proposal for permanent state funding for NOVELNY, a pilot project for the Statewide Internet Library.

Open-access medical journals.

A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with almost 7,000 full text periodicals.

–

Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, Academic OneFile is a good general-purpose periodical index with journals and popular magazines that includes much full-text, many going back to the 1980s. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Library Initiative is a proposal for permanent state funding for NOVELNY, a pilot project for the Statewide Internet Library.