LibGuides: Play Therapy: Home

DISCLAIMER

This guide was created for patrons looking for general consumer health information. These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. For questions related to advice, diagnosis, or treatment please contact a licensed medical provider.

What is Play Therapy?

Merriam-Webster (n.d.) defines Play Therapy as, “psychotherapy in which a child is encouraged to reveal feelings and conflicts in play rather than by verbalization.” It is a therapy where through the use of toys and games and other forms of play, a child communicates much like in verbal therapy for adults.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Play therapy. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved June 1, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/play%20therapy

Databases

Databases are a great place to search for individual articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.

While many news and magazine articles may also be found with an internet search engine, our subscription databases can provide you with access to older articles that are not available online and other pay-per-view materials, plus additional options to refine your search. As far as scholarly articles go, databases should be your first stop! Most scholarly literature is not freely available.

Check out some of our subject-specific database recommendations!

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, Academic OneFile is a good general-purpose periodical index with journals and popular magazines that includes much full-text, many going back to the 1980s. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with almost 7,000 full text periodicals.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers all major healthcare specialities, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, etc.
JURN This link opens in a new window Covers open access academic articles and books on the arts and humanities, as well as science, computer science, medicine, psychology, pharmacology, and economics.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window Provides access to journals, ebooks, dissertations, video, and news from ProQuest Central, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Psychiatry Online (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window Includes a number of American Psychiatric Publishing books and journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry. Content dates back to 1844.
PubMed @ Touro This link opens in a new window Allows you to not only access PubMed but also the full-text holding at Touro. PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Books & E-Books

Touro Library Catalog

All of Touro's physical books can be found by searching the catalog (above, or under the "Books & More" tab on the library homepage).

Use the advanced search to limit your results by year, or campus location, or search just e-books. If a print book you'd like is at a different campus, learn how to request it.